Aug 11, 2014

MEDIA News: Media Moves at: AP, The Washington Post, Self Magazine and More… Newswire’s Audience Research Department makes thousands of updates to the  database of journalists and bloggers that underpins our Agility media targeting and distribution platform.  Below is a sampling of recent media moves and news from the research team.  Learn more about Agility media targeting here.

PR Newswire’s Audience Research Department provides daily updates on Twitter (

Associated Press – Washington Bureau (Washington, DC): AP Chicago Central Region Editor David Scott (@davidthornhill) moves to DC to become the Political Editor. And AP Honolulu Editor Oskar Garcia (@oskargarcia) moves to the Philadelphia Bureau to become the Eastern Assistant Sports Editor.

The Washington Post (Washington, DC): Health Reporter Sandhya Somashekhar (@sandhyawp) switches beats to become the new Social Change Reporter. Sylvester Monroe (@sylvestermonroe) joins in late August at the Foreign Desk to edit Europe and South Asia news. Moscow Correspondent Will Englund returns to be a Foreign Desk Editor in charge of East Asia and the Americas. Caitlyn Moore (@thecaitlinshow) is the new Digital Features Editor. Former Boston Globe Arts Reporter Geoff Edgers is the new National Arts Reporter. Ex-Star-Ledger Reporter Peggy McGlone (@PeggyMcGlone) is now the Local Arts Reporter.

Tribune Company (Chicago, IL): Tribune Company has rebranded as Tribune Media Company (@tribunemedia)( The rebranding redirects the shift from print publication to content, broadcast distribution and digital.

The Wall Street Journal (New York, NY): Matt Jarzemsky (@MattJarzemsky) moves to the Deals team @WSJ where he will cover bankruptcy and reconstruction. He previously covered the financial market, IPOs and stocks.

Bloomberg Businessweek (New York, NY): Natalie Kitroeff (@nataliekitro) joins @BW as an Education Reporter.

Bloomberg – San Francisco Bureau (San Francisco, CA): Spencer Soper (@spencersoper) is the new E-Commerce Reporter for @Bloomberg.

Financial Times – Washington Bureau (Washington Bureau): Megan Murphy (@meganmurp) will be the new Bureau Chief in September.

New York Post (New York, NY): Jamie Schram (@jschram71) is now an Investigative Reporter @nypost. She had been the Police Bureau Chief since 2011.

SELF Magazine (New York, NY): Alexandra Postman is named Deputy Editor @SELFMagazine.

Allure Magazine (New York, NY): Jenny Bailly is the new Beauty Director @Allure_Magazine. She previously held the position of Deputy Beauty Director.

Seventeen Magazine (New York, NY): Ariel Nagi (@arielnagi) joins the team @seventeenmag as Web Editor.

New York Magazine (New York, NY): Lauren Kern is now the Executive Editor @NYMag. In addition, Lindsay Zoladz (@lindsayzoladz) is set to become the new Pop Music Critic.

The View (New York, NY): Long-time Producer and Co-Creator Bill Geddie will be replaced by Bill Wolff (@ProducerGuy1) @theviewtv. Wolff comes from MSNBC where he was the Executive Producer of The Rachel Maddow Show.
More Magazine (New York, NY): Nina Judar (@NinaJudar) is set to join @MoreMag as Beauty Director on September 3rd.

Los Angeles Times (Los Angeles, CA): Brandi Grissom (@brandigrissom) joins @LATimes as an Enterprise Editor from @TexasTribune.

Playboy Magazine (Beverly Hills, CA): Marc Bernardin has departed from The Hollywood Reporter (@THR) to join @Playboy as Deputy Editor, Digital.

E! Online (Los Angeles, CA): Sydney Bucksbaum (@sydneybucksbaum) departs from to join @ENewsNow as a Writer covering the TV industry.

WeatherNation (Greenwood Village, CO): Karissa Sanford joins the team as a Meteorologist @WeatherNation.

Univision Network (Miami, FL): Executive Producer Sussy Ruiz has been promoted to Regional Manager of Broadcast and Digital News @Univision.

Telemundo Network (Hialeah, FL): Mirta Ojito (@MirtaOjito) is the new Director of News Standards @Telemundo and starts on August 25th.

The Marshall Project (New York, NY): Former Seattle Times Investigative Reporter Ken Armstrong (@bykenarmstrong), who also won a Pulitzer Prize, is joining the staff @MarshallProj as a Staff Writer in late August. Ken is a two-time Pulitzer Prize winner.

ARTnews (@ARTnewsmag): Dan Duray (@DurayDan) has joined the outlet as a Senior Staff Reporter.

FitBump (@FitBump): Ingrid Skjong will be the new Editor-in-Chief at the maternity website @FitBump.

Gigaom (@Gigaom): Carmel DeAmicis (@Carmeldea) has started at @GigaOm as Reporter. She will focus on social media and consumer web.

Mashable (@Mashable): The newest Features Writer @Mashable is Rebecca Ruiz (@Rebecca_Ruiz). She will focus on gender, sexuality and equality.

The Denver Post (Denver, CO): Food Editor Kristen Browning-Blas (@Krisbb) has left the paper (@denverpost) after 14 years to teach at Colorado State University.

Design World (Cleveland, OH): Leland Teschler (@DW_LeeTeschler) was named Editorial Director @DesignWorld.

Bustle ( Sara Spruch-Feiner (@sarajanenyc) takes on the Health & Nutrition Reporter gig @bustle.

Health Tech Insider (Brooklyn, NY): Alfred Poor (@AlfredPoor) is the new Editor at this mobile health technology site (

Luxe Interiors + Design (Boca Raton, FL): Managing Editor Aryn Hernandez (@accessoriesdiva) is now the Executive Editor (@luxemag).

Detailed outlet and contact information is available at

Click here view the complete listing of MEDIAware 

Fill in your details below: