Mar 24, 2014

MEDIA News: Media Moves at The Wall Street Journal, ESPN The Magazine,The Atlantic and More…

http://prnbloggers.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/agility-logo.png?w=127&h=125&h=125PR Newswire’s Audience Research Department makes thousands of updates to the  database of journalists and bloggers that underpins our Agility media targeting and distribution platform.  Below is a sampling of recent media moves and news from the research team.  Learn more about Agility media targeting here.

Wall Street Journal The Wall Street Journal (New York, NY): Alistair Barr (@alistairmbarr) has left USA Today to join @WSJ to cover Google’s operations in Silicon Valley. Business Insider (@businessinsider) Reporter Steven Perlberg (@perlberg) moves to The Journal as well beginning the first of April. Erik Holm (@erikholmwsj) is now Deputy Editor of the MoneyBeat blog.

ESPN The Magazine ESPN The Magazine (Bristol, CT): Editor-in-Chief of @ESPNMag Chad Millman (@chadmillman) (chad.x.millman@espn.com) is also now the Editor-in-Chief of ESPN.com (@espn).  In addition, beginning in June, Rick Reilly (@ReillyRick) will end his sports column for the magazine. However he will switch over to do television for the company.

Washington Post The Washington Post (Washington, DC): Ryan McCarthy (@mccarthyryanj) is the new Assistant Business Editor at the Post.

The Atlantic The Atlantic (Washington, DC): David Frum (@davidfrum)(dfrum@theatlantic.com) is the new Senior Editor @TheAtlantic.

The Associated Press Associated Press (New York, NY): Associated Press (@AP) Business Editor Hal Ritter is retiring early next month.

Los Angeles Times Los Angeles Times (Los Angeles, CA): The LA Times (@LATimes) has named Stacey Leasca (@SLeasca)(stacey.leasca@latimes.com) Social Media Editor.

Morning Consult (Washington, DC): Emily Holden (@emilyhholden)(emily@morningconsult.com) has left Roll Call to join Morning Consult as Energy Editor.

Philanthropy Chronicle of Philanthropy (Washington, DC): Former Bloomberg Government Managing Editor Daniel Parks (@itsdanparks) is the new Managing Editor @Philanthropy.

National JournalNational Journal (Washington, D.C.): Emma Roller (@EmmaRoller) (eroller@nationaljournal.com) is now working @NationalJournal as a Politics Blogger. Jason Plautz (@Jason_Plautz) (jplautz@nationaljournal.com) is the new Energy Reporter for the outlet.

The New RepublicThe New Republic (Washington, D.C.) The New Republic (@TNR) has hired Brian Beutler (@BrianBeutler) as a Senior Editor.

Essence Magazine Essence Magazine (New York, NY): Lauren Williams (@LaurnWilliams) (lwilliams@essence.com) is now the News Editor @EssenceMag. Meanwhile, Aretha Busby (@arethabusby) is no longer with the magazine where she served as Beauty Director. In addition, Emil Wilbekin (@EmilWilbekin) is no longer the Editor-at-Large at Essence Online. He has held that position since January 2012.

MORE MagazineMore Magazine (New York, NY): More Magazine (@MoreMag) welcomes Debra Birnbaum (@debrabirnbaum) (debra.birnbaum@meredith.com) as acting Entertainment Editor.

PIX11 WPIX-11 (New York, NY): WPIX-11 (@WPIX) welcomes Andy Adler (@Andy_Adler) (morningnews@wpix.com) to the Morning News team as Entertainment and Sports Reporter. She will start April 7.

Prevention Magazine Prevention Magazine (New York, NY): Emma Haak (@EmmaHaak27) (emma.haak@rodale.com) joins Prevention (@PreventionMag) as Associate Editor.

People magazinePeople Magazine (New York, NY): Henry Goldblatt (@henrygoldblatt) (henry_goldblatt@peoplemag.com) moves from Deputy Editor of Entertainment Weekly (@EW) to Deputy Editor of People (@Peoplemag). Also, Elizabeth Gleick (@BetsyGleick) (elizabeth_gleick@peoplemag.com) moves from Executive Editor to Deputy Editor for Human Interest.

The Weather Channel The Weather Channel (Atlanta, GA): Veteran Meteorologist Dave Schwartz (dschwartz@weather.com) is returning to the air @weatherchannel next month after a number of years away.

Teen Vogue Teen Vogue (New York, NY): Emily Gaynor (@emgaynor) (emily_gaynor@condenast.com ) is the new Assistant Beauty Editor here.

FOX News (New York, NY): Contributor Scott Brown (@SenScottBrown) has left the network to pursue a run for US Senate in New Hampshire.

SI KIDS Sports Illustrated for Kids (New York, NY): Managing Editor Bob Der announced his departure from Sports Illustrated for Kids (@SIKids), a position he held for the past eight years.

TOWN&COUNTRY Town & Country Magazine (New York, NY): Jay McInerney (@JayMcInerney) has joined Town & Country (@TandCmag) as a Monthly Contributor. He will write about wine beginning in the June/July issue.

CNN CNN – New York Bureau (New York, NY): CNN Los Angeles Reporter Miguel Marquez (miguel.marquez@turner.com)  is moving cross country to report for CNN (@cnn) in New York.

NewsHourPBS NewsHour (Arlington, VA): Domenico Montanaro (@DomenicoPBS) will soon be a Political Editor and Senior Producer at PBS NewsHour (@Newshour).

SHAPE magazine Shape Magazine (New York, NY): Cassie Shortsleeve (@CShortsleeve) (cshortsleeve@shape.com) is the new Senior Online Editor for Shape (@Shape_Magazine).

Entertainment Weekly Entertainment Weekly (New York, NY): Stephanie Robbins (@StephRobbins) (stephanie_robbins@ew.com) is the new Web Editor for Entertainment Weekly (@EW). She is based in L.A.

Sunset Magazine Sunset Magazine (Menlo Park, CA): Christine Ryan (ryanc@sunset.com) is now the new Senior Features Editor at Sunset (@SunsetMag).

Chicagoist.com Chicagoist (Chicago, IL): Melissa McEwen (@melissamcewen) has joined @Chicagoist as the Food and Drink Editor. McEwen replaces Anthony Todd (@FoodieAnthony) (anthony@tastingtable.com), who recently joined the Tasting Table (@TastingTable) as Chicago Editor.

KOAA-TV (Colorado Springs, CO): The NBC affiliate has hired Valerie Abati as Meteorologist. Abati was most recently at KSBW-TV in Salinas, CA.

Star Tribune Star Tribune (Minneapolis, MN): Patrick Condon (patrick.condon@startribune.com) (@patricktcondon) has joined the Star Tribune (@StarTribune)  as a Reporter, covering Minnesota state politics and government. He was previously at the Associated Press – Minneapolis Bureau.

Mental Floss Mental Floss (Chesterland, OH): Hannah Keyser (@HannahRKeyser) is now writing for Mental Floss Magazine (@Mental_Floss).

theGrio.comtheGrio (@theGrio) (info@thegrio.com): Lilly Workneh (@Lilly_Works) (lillyuga@gmail.com) is now the “Living” Section Editor here.

The Intercept The Intercept (@The_Intercept) (media@firstlook.org): John Cook (@JohnJCook) is joining The Intercept as Editor-in-Chief.

Pursuitist Luxury Pursuitist (@Pursuitist) (pursuitist@gmail.com): McLean Robbins (@DeaconDoesDC) (mclean@mcleanrobbins.com) is now the East Coast Editor.

Yahoo Yahoo! (@Yahoo) (media@yahoo-inc.com): Lisa Belkin (@LisaBelkin) has joined Yahoo! as a Senior National Correspondent.

WCCO - CBS Minnesota WCCO-TV (Minneapolis, MN): Kim Johnson (@KimJohnsonABC4) has been hired as the new Saturday Morning Anchor at the NBC affiliate, starting in May. She comes to WCCO from KTVX-TV in Salt Lake City. Also at the station, Jason Matheson (@jasonmatheson) has been brought on as a Reporter for the evening news.

Roll Call Roll Call (Washington, DC): Senate Reporter Meredith Shiner (@meredithshiner) is no longer @rollcall.

LA Business Journal Los Angeles Business Journal (Los Angeles, CA): Reporter Tom Dotan is no longer with the Los Angeles Business Journal (@LABJcommunity). He covered technology and hospitality.

MEDIAware’s full weekly version can be found at:www.prnewswire.com/knowledge-center/medi…

PR Newswire’s Audience Research Department provides daily updates on Twitter (twitter.com/PRNmedia).

Detailed outlet and contact information is available at agility.prnewswire.com.

Fill in your details below: