Apr 14, 2014

MEDIA News: Media Moves at Wall Street Journal, Time, Weather Channel and More…

Below is a sampling of recent media moves and news compiled by PR Newswire’s Audience Research Department.  

The Wall Street Journal (New York, NY): Alice Hagge (@alicehagge) (alice.hagge@wsj.com) moves from MarketWatch to work @WSJ Real Time Desk, where she is the U.S News Editor.

The Wall Street Journal – Washington Bureau (Washington, DC): Ex-Washington Post Op-Ed Editor Autumn Brewington (@Autumnsan1)(autumn.brewington@wsj.com) is a new Political Editor @WSJ. Former Politico Reporter Reid Epstein (@reidepstein) signs on @WSJwashington to be a Washington Wire Political Blogger. And KSL-TV’s Social Media Director Natalie Wardel (@nataliewardel)(natalie.wardel@wsj.com) is WSJ’s new Social Media Editor.

Time Magazine (New York, NY): Time promotes Susanna Schrobsdorff (@SusannaSchrobs) to Assistant Managing Editor and Living Editor.

The Weather Channel (Atlanta, GA): Meteorologist Dave Schwartz returns to @weatherchannel after six years away.

Entertainment Weekly (New York, NY): Chris Rackliffe (@crackliffe) has been named Senior Social Media Editor @EW. Also, Neil Janowitz is set to become the new Assistant Managing Editor.

CBS (New York, NY): Stephen Colbert will replace David Letterman when he retires in 2015. Letterman has hosted “The Late Show” (@Letterman) for 21 years.

Men’s Journal (New York, NY): Marissa Stephenson (@marissastphnsn) moves from Self Magazine to Men’s Journal (@mensjournal) where she is Senior Editor.

Wonkblog (Washington, DC): Quartz Reporter Roberto Ferdman (@robferdman) joins Washington Post’s blog (@Wonkblog) to cover consumer business, immigration and Latin American development.

WTTG-TV (Washington, DC): This Fox affiliate (@fox5newsdc) has added Emily Miller (@EmilyMiller) as their Chief Investigative Reporter. Emily previously worked at The Washington Times as a Senior Op-Ed Editor.

InformationWeek (Manhasset, NY): Alison Diana joins @InformationWeek as Senior Editor covering Healthcare Information Technology.

Marine Corps Times (Springfield, VA): Geoffrey Ingersoll (@GPIngersoll) takes on the Managing Editor role @Marinetimes.

Business North Carolina (Charlotte, NC): David Mildenberg is the new Editor at @BusinessNC. He was previously with Bloomberg.

New Haven Register (New Haven, CT): Sean Carlin (SeanCarlin84) joins the newsroom at the @nhregister as a Local News Reporter.

Breitbart News (@BreitbartNews): Charlie Spiering (@CharlieSpiering) has been hired at as a Political Reporter. Breitbart California was recently launched by Breitbart News. Joel Pollak (jpollak@breitbart.com) (@joelpollak) is the Editor.

Refinery29 (@Refinery29): The new Beauty Writer for Refinery29 is Maria Del Russo (@Maria_DelRusso).

The Cut (@TheCut): Veronique Hyland (@Veroniquean) is the new Fashion News Editor at this New York Magazine blog.

Yahoo! (@Yahoo) (media@yahoo-inc.com): Sarah McColl (@SarahMccoll) has been promoted to Editor-in-Chief of Yahoo!’s food section (@YahooFood). Paula Froelich (@PFro) is the new Editor-in-Chief for their travel section (@YahooTravel).

Bleacher Report (San Francisco, CA): Baseball scribe Scott Miller (@ScottMillerBbl) signs on to cover America’s pastime @BleacherReport.

CBSSports.com (Fort Lauderdale, FL): Former Birmingham News Sports Reporter Jon Solomon (@jonsol) tackles the College Football Reporter role @CBSSports.

New York Magazine (New York, NY): Tara Abell (@tara_abell) is now an Associate Editor of Social Media @NYMag.

Slate (New York, NY): Alison Griswold (@alisongriswold), who was previously a Reporter for Strategy section at Business Insider has been named Staff Writer at (@Slate).

Plain Dealer (Cleveland, OH): Debra Adams Simmons (@DAdamsSimmons) has been promoted to VP of News Development for Advance Local from Editor for the daily (@ThePlainDealer) in Cleveland.

Crain’s Cleveland Business (Cleveland, OH): Elizabeth McIntyre is set to join the trade magazine (@CrainsCleveland) as Editor.

Chicago Magazine (Chicago, IL): Terrance Noland is joining @ChicagoMag as Executive Editor from Contributing Editor for @MensJournal.

Teen Vogue (New York, NY): Amada Keiser has been named Fashion Editor.

Seventeen Magazine (New York, NY): Elizabeth Denton (@Elizabethann1) signs on as an Online Staff Editor.

Real Simple Magazine (New York, NY): Former Huffington Post Executive Lifestyle Editor Lori Leibovich (@lorileibovich) is now the Online Editor @RealSimple.

MundoFox (New York,NY): Nicole Suarez has joined MundoFox (@MundoFOX) and as an Anchor for “Hoy Noticias MundoFox 13.” This is a joint project with Hoy Newspaper (@HoyChicago).

Fill in your details below: