64th Annual Peabody Awards Call For Entries

Oct 22, 2004, 01:00 ET from Peabody Awards

    ATHENS, Ga., Oct. 22 /PRNewswire/ -- The 64th Annual George Foster Peabody
 Awards Call For Entries is in the mail. More than 100,000 electronic media
 professionals -- worldwide -- will receive the mailing. Original broadcast,
 cablecast and webcast programs presented in 2004 are eligible. The entry
 deadline is January 14, 2005. Entrants may apply online at
     (Logo:  http://www.newscom.com/cgi-bin/prnh/20000320/PEABODY )
     The Peabody Awards, established in 1940 and administered by UGA's Grady
 College of Journalism and Mass Communication, are the oldest honor in
 electronic media. Today the Peabody recognizes distinguished achievement and
 meritorious public service by stations, networks, producing organizations and
     Winners of the 63rd Annual Peabody Award include BBC America's "The
 Office," HBO's "The Wire," MTV Networks/Nickelodeon's "Dora the Explorer,"
 Showtime's "Soldier's Girl," Minnesota Public Radio's "American Mavericks,"
 Houston's KHOU-TV for "Evidence of Errors," and Atlantic Public Media's
 "Transom.org," the first Peabody awarded exclusively to a Web site.
     Peabody recipients whose subject matter explores health and medical issues
 are eligible for the Peabody/Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Award for
 Excellence in Health and Medical Programming. This award carries a $10,000
 cash prize to be used for development of programming consistent with the
 funding goals of The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
     The Peabody Award, considered the most selective and prestigious honor for
 electronic media programming, is unique in that there are no categories for
 entry or nominations. Entries are judged by a 15-member Board that includes
 television critics, industry practitioners, scholars and experts in culture
 and fine arts.
     For further information regarding the Peabody Awards, the Peabody/Robert
 Wood Johnson Foundation Award or to request an entry form, call
 (706) 542-3787, e-mail the Peabody office at peabody@arches.uga.edu, or visit
 the Peabody web site at http://www.peabody.uga.edu.

SOURCE Peabody Awards