AFI Awards 2007 Official Selections Announced

Eighth Annual AFI Almanac Honors 10 Most Outstanding Motion Pictures and TV

Programs of the Year

Dec 16, 2007, 00:00 ET from American Film Institute

    LOS ANGELES, Dec. 16 /PRNewswire/ -- American Film Institute (AFI)
 today announced the official selections of AFI AWARDS 2007, AFI's almanac
 that records the year's most outstanding achievements in film and
 television, as well as significant moments in the world of the moving
     AFI AWARDS is the only recognition that honors the film and television
 creative ensembles as a whole -- those both in front of and behind the
 camera -- acknowledging the collaborative nature of film and television.
     Unlike any other film or television award, the AFI AWARDS 2007
 selections are made through AFI's unique 13-person jury process in which
 scholars, film artists, critics and AFI trustees discuss, debate and
 determine the most outstanding achievements of the year, as well as provide
 a detailed rationale for each selection. Two AFI juries -- one for motion
 pictures and one for television -- convened in Los Angeles for two days of
 deliberations at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel. The jurors have
 remained confidential until today. (Complete list is below.)
     AFI will honor the creative ensembles for each of the selections at a
 luncheon sponsored by Hewlett-Packard on Friday, January 11, 2008 at the
 Four Seasons Hotel in Los Angeles, California. The luncheon is by
 invitation only.
     Additionally, HP has created 20 scholarships to the AFI Conservatory
 for a second consecutive year, one for each of the AFI honorees. The AFI
 Conservatory is world-renowned for its advanced training of the next
 generation of storytellers.
     "AFI was established 40 years ago to educate and to honor great
 American film artists. AFI AWARDS does both -- it celebrates the
 achievements of these 20 extraordinary ensembles and through the HP
 scholarships in their name, the program invests in the next generation of
 storytellers," commented Bob Gazzale, AFI's President and CEO.
The honorees are listed below in alphabetical order: AFI MOVIES OF THE YEAR - OFFICIAL SELECTIONS BEFORE THE DEVIL KNOWS YOU'RE DEAD THE DIVING BELL AND THE BUTTERFLY INTO THE WILD JUNO KNOCKED UP MICHAEL CLAYTON NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN RATATOUILLE THE SAVAGES THERE WILL BE BLOOD AFI TV PROGRAMS OF THE YEAR - OFFICIAL SELECTIONS DEXTER EVERYBODY HATES CHRIS FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS LONGFORD MAD MEN PUSHING DAISIES THE SOPRANOS TELL ME YOU LOVE ME 30 ROCK UGLY BETTY AFI AWARDS 2007 JURORS AFI JURY FOR MOTION PICTURES Frank Pierson Chair, AFI Jury for Motion Pictures Writer/Director Artistic Director and Distinguished Filmmaker-in-Residence, AFI Conservatory AFI Board of Trustees David Ansen Newsweek Donn Cambern Editor/Director Senior Mentor, AFI Conservatory Mary Corey University of California, Los Angeles Lawrence Kasdan Writer/Producer/Director AFI Trustee Emeritus Leonard Maltin ENTERTAINMENT TONIGHT Tara McPherson University of Southern California Diana Ossana Novelist/Screenwriter/Producer David Picker Producer AFI Trustee Emeritus Tom Pollock Vice Chair and Chair Emeritus, AFI Board of Trustees Richard Schickel Time Gary Winick Director/Producer AFI Conservatory Alumnus Kristal Brent Zook Hosftra University AFI JURY FOR TELEVISION Rich Frank Chair, AFI Jury for Television Vice Chair, AFI Board of Trustees Dick Askin President and CEO, Academy of Television Arts & Sciences AFI Board of Trustees Neal Baer Writer/Producer AFI Conservatory Alumnus Anna Everett University of California, Santa Barbara Nancy Franklin The New Yorker Barry Garron The Hollywood Reporter Melissa Gilbert Actor/Director/Producer AFI Trustee Emeritus Horace Newcomb University of Georgia Del Reisman Writer Senior Lecturer, AFI Conservatory Matt Roush TV Guide Maureen Ryan Chicago Tribune Robert Thompson Bleier Center for Television and Popular Culture, Syracuse University Ron Underwood Director/Producer/Writer AFI Conservatory Alumnus CRITERIA Each year, AFI AWARDS honors excellence in American film and television by recognizing the creative ensembles that collaborate to create the year's outstanding movies and television programs, all of which best advanced the art of the moving image; enhanced the rich cultural heritage of America's art form; inspired audiences and artists alike; and/or made a mark on American society.
AFI will consider eligible any film that fulfills the following criteria: FEATURE-LENGTH MOTION PICTURE Narrative fiction format, over 60 minutes in length. AMERICAN Motion picture with significant creative and/or production elements from the United States. The motion picture need not be presented in the English language if it is incontrovertibly American. THEATRICALLY-RELEASED Motion pictures originally released between January 1, 2007, and December 31, 2007, which have premiered in a commercial theater and screened for at least five consecutive days in Los Angeles or New York City. About the American Film Institute AFI is a national institute providing leadership in screen education and the recognition and celebration of excellence in the art of film, television and digital media. Additional information about AFI is available at

SOURCE American Film Institute