Al Roker of NBC's 'Today' to Host 2008 Edgar(R) Awards Banquet

For Second Consecutive Year

Mar 24, 2008, 01:00 ET from Mystery Writers of America

    NEW YORK, March 24 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Mystery novel fan and
 morning show host of the "Today" show, Al Roker has been selected again by
 the Mystery Writers of America to be the Master of Ceremonies for the 62nd
 Annual Edgar(R) Awards. Last year was Roker's first time to host the
     "The Mystery Writers of America are very excited to have Mr. Roker
 return as Master of Ceremonies," said Harry Hunsicker, Executive Vice
 President of Mystery Writers of America. "His wit and humor last year made
 for a wonderful time, and we look forward to another great evening."
     The Edgar Awards, or "Edgars," as they are commonly known, are named
 after Mystery Writers of America's patron saint Edgar Allan Poe and are
 awarded to authors of distinguished work in more than a dozen categories.
 Also being honored this year with the coveted Grand Master Award is the
 creator of one of the longest lasting detective series, author Bill
 Pronzini. The Edgar Awards Banquet will be held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel,
 New York City, on Thursday, May 1, 2008.
     About Mystery Writers of America
     Mystery Writers of America (MWA) is the premier organization for
 mystery writers, professionals allied to the crime writing field, aspiring
 crime writers, and those who are devoted to the genre. MWA is dedicated to
 promoting higher regard for crime writing and recognition and respect for
 those who write within the genre. We provide scholarships for writers,
 sponsor MWA:Reads (our youth literacy program), sponsor symposia and
 conferences, present the Edgar Awards, and conduct other activities to
 further a better appreciation and higher regard for crime writing. With 11
 chapters covering the 50 states, membership is open to the public, and you
 need not reside in the U.S. to join. MWA is a nonprofit organization as
 described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

SOURCE Mystery Writers of America