Carver Mead to Receive the ACM's Allen Newell Award For Career Contributions to Computer Science

Sep 30, 1997, 01:00 ET from Association for Computing

    NEW YORK, Sept. 30 /PRNewswire/ -- Carver Mead will receive the Allen
 Newell Award from the Association for Computing (ACM) at a special reception
 at the National Academy of Engineering in Washington, DC on Sunday,
 October 5th.  The award, to be presented by ACM President Charles House, is
 given to an individual selected for career contributions within the field of
 computer science, or for contributions bridging computer science and other
 disciplines. This award is supported by the American Association for
 Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) and by individual contributions.
     "Carver Mead has made many diverse and seminal contributions to the
 computing and semiconductor industries through the development of
 semiconductors, their design, and specific, archetypal chip designs.  Mead's
 most important contribution enabled the design of digital chips through the
 concept of lambda scaling, and the first silicon compiler.  This technology is
 the foundation that allows the modern semiconductor industry to design and
 build complex, VLSI chips."
     This work was followed by his acclaimed treatise and methodology for
 analog chip circuitry design.  His talents are both broad and deep, and range
 from neuroscience in the form of various chips for the first artificial retina
 and cochlea, to original chip architectures, to the fundamental design of new
 semiconducting devices.  His earliest work includes the first working GaAs
 MESFET.  Most of these inventions were solely his, followed by co-work with
 graduate students.  He has created a cadre of graduate students who have made
 the U.S. semiconductor industry great and unsurpassed.  Similarly, he has
 worked with many companies in the startup phase, including Intel Corporation,
 the founding of Silicon Compilers (now part of Mentor Graphics), Actel,
 Synaptics, Aptix, Silerity (now part of Viewlogic Systems, Inc), and Sonix.
     Carver Mead is also known for his classic text, Introduction to VLSI
 Systems, which he co-authored with Lynn Conway, and which proposed design
 rules for developing complex, high-density integrated circuits, and which has
 been widely influential in engineering programs across the country.  His
 current focus is on modeling and constructing electronic versions of human
 biological structures, which he calls "neuromorphic electronic systems."  He
 graduated from Caltech with B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in electrical
     About Allen Newell
     The Newell award's namesake, Allen Newell, was a pioneer in artificial
 intelligence who developed the "rule-based" approach to problem solving.  He
 taught at Carnegie-Mellon and played a key role in developing the computer
 science department there.  Among his many awards are the ACM's Turing Award
 and the Franklin Institute's Louis E. Levy medal.  With Gordon Bell, Newell
 wrote Computer Structures, a classic computer science text.  Newell died in
     About the ACM
     The Association for Computing (ACM) is a major force in advancing the
 skills of information technology professionals and students.  The ACM serves
 its global membership by delivering cutting edge technical information and
 transferring ideas from theory to practice.  The ACM, with its world-class
 journals and magazines, dynamic special interest groups, numerous conferences,
 workshops, and electronic forums, is a primary resource to the information
 technology field.
     The ACM was founded in 1947, a year after the first successful electronic
 digital computer (ENIAC) was unveiled.  It became the largest international
 scientific and educational computer society in the world.  Its founders and
 first members were mathematicians and electrical engineers, one of them being
 John Mauchly, the coinventor of the ENIAC.  They formed the Association as a
 forum for the exchange of information, knowledge and ideas that would advance
 the development of computing technology and its emergent industry.
     Over the years, ACM's membership has included most of the men and women
 who led the world into what is now called the Information Age.  Their
 activities are honored both in ACM publications and in ACM awards for
 distinctive contributions to the field, such as the A.M. Turing Award and the
 Grace Murray Hopper Award.  ACM members include computer practitioners,
 developers, researchers, educators, engineers and managers with a significant
 interest in the creation and application of information technologies.  For
 additional information about the ACM, see on the World Wide

SOURCE Association for Computing