Deadline Extension for Mystery Writers of America Joan Lowery Nixon Short Story Contest

Feb 26, 2008, 00:00 ET from Mystery Writers of America

    NEW YORK, Feb. 26 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- MWA:Reads, Mystery Writers
 of America's youth literacy program that encourages children and teens to
 read mysteries by joining authors with students, parents, teachers, and
 librarians, will extend the deadline for the Joan Lowery Nixon Award
 mystery writing contest in 2008. The announcement was made today by
 MWA:Reads National Chairperson Chris Freeburn. The new deadline is March
 31, 2008.
     The Joan Lowery Nixon Award mystery writing contest encourages students
 to use their language arts skills along with their imagination to create
 their own unique mystery story. The contest is named after the prolific
 American writer of historical fiction and mysteries for children and young
 adults, Joan Lowery Nixon. She is the founder of MWA:Reads, as well as the
 only person ever to win the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar(R) Award for
 Best Juvenile Mystery four times. Lowery passed away in 2003.
     Contest details:
     The Joan Lowery Nixon Award mystery writing contest is open to students
 from the second through the tenth grades. There are two age categories:
 Grades 2-5 and Grades 6-10. Only one story per student may be submitted, as
 specified in the contest rules. The entries will be judged in the area of
 creativity and proper use of the English language. The winner of each
 category will receive a $250 cash prize.
     Submissions for the contest will be accepted beginning February 3, 2008
 (Joan Lowery Nixon's birthday) but no later than March 31, 2008. Students
 in public and private schools, as well as home-schooled students, are
 encouraged to participate.
     Visit for complete submission
 guidelines and contest rules. The winners will be posted on Mystery Writers
 of America's website.
     About Mystery Writers of America
     Mystery Writers of America (MWA) is the premier organization for
 mystery writers, professionals allied to the crime writing field, aspiring
 crime writers, and those who are devoted to the genre. MWA is dedicated to
 promoting higher regard for crime writing and recognition and respect for
 those who write within the genre. The organization provides scholarships
 for writers, sponsors MWA:Reads (our youth literacy program), sponsors
 symposia and conferences, presents the Edgar(R) Awards, and conducts other
 activities to further a better appreciation and higher regard for crime
 writing. With 11 chapters covering the 50 states, membership is open to the
 public, and you need not reside in the U.S. to join. MWA is a nonprofit
 organization described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

SOURCE Mystery Writers of America