Driehaus Prize and Henry Hope Reed Award Double to a Combined $250,000 Together the Prizes are the Most Significant Recognition for Classicism in

the Contemporary Built Environment

    NOTRE DAME, Ind., Nov. 7 /PRNewswire/ -- Philanthropist Richard H.
 Driehaus today announced that he will increase the unrestricted prize
 monies given out annually through the Richard H. Driehaus Prize and Henry
 Hope Reed Award to a combined $250,000. The two prizes, which are
 administered through the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture,
 represent the most significant recognition for classicism in the
 contemporary built environment.
     The Driehaus Prize is awarded annually to an outstanding architect
 whose work applies the principles of classicism, including sensitivity to
 the historic continuum, the fostering of community, and impact to the built
 and natural environment in contemporary contexts. Previously a $100,000
 unrestricted cash prize, the annual Driehaus Prize will now be $200,000.
 The Henry Hope Reed Award is given to an influential supporter of the
 classical architecture movement who is not an architect by trade.
 Previously a $25,000 unrestricted cash prize, the annual award will now be
     Richard Driehaus, Founder and Chairman of Driehaus Capital Management,
 commented: "The Driehaus Prize was started to celebrate classicism in
 today's world, and to recognize contemporary architects whose work is a
 gracious embodiment of those values. Beauty, harmony and context are
 hallmarks of classical architecture, thus fostering communities, enhancing
 the quality of our shared environment and developing sustainable solutions
 through traditional materials. Within the bodies of work of the Driehaus
 Prize winners, these ideas form an even larger and more important truth
 about the human experience - that the growth of a culture or community does
 not need to happen at the expense of its history and established value. I
 am pleased to support these ideas through the Driehaus Prize and the Henry
 Hope Reed Award."
     Michael Lykoudis, Dean of the University of Notre Dame School of
 Architecture, said: "Over the past five years, we've established the
 Driehaus Prize as the preeminent prize for classical architecture. The
 principles of classicism are polyvalent and universal, and have informed
 all great architectural contributions regardless of epoch. Transcending
 cultures and borders, they are a part of our collective history and we
 should continue to encourage the integration of classical structures into
 our built environment today. The University of Notre Dame School of
 Architecture is proud to be associated with this important prize."
     The Driehaus Prize jury met last week in Prague, Czech Republic to
 select the 2008 winners and a formal announcement will be issued in late
     The jury was comprised of Richard H. Driehaus (Founder and Chairman of
 Driehaus Capital Management), Michael Lykoudis (Dean of the University of
 Notre Dame School of Architecture), Elizabeth Dowling (Professor at Georgia
 Institute of Technology College of Architecture), Paul Goldberger
 (Architecture Critic for "The New Yorker") David M. Schwarz (Principal of
 David M. Schwarz / Architectural Services, Inc), and Adele Chatfield-Taylor
 (President of the American Academy in Rome). Selecting a different exemplar
 city every year in which to convene, next year's jury is scheduled to meet
 in Buenos Aires, Argentina.
     About The Richard H. Driehaus Prize
     Established in 2003, the Richard H. Driehaus Prize honors, promotes and
 encourages architectural excellence that applies the principles of
 traditional, classical and sustainable architecture and urbanism in
 contemporary society and environments. It is presented annually by the
 University of Notre Dame School of Architecture to an outstanding architect
 in recognition of their work. In conjunction with the Driehaus Prize, the
 annual Henry Hope Reed Award is given to recognize the contributions of
 supporters of classical architecture operating beyond the drafting tables
 and outside the practice of architecture. Past Driehaus Prize Recipients
 include: Jaquelin T. Robertson (2007), Allan Greenberg (2006), Quinlan
 Terry (2005), Demetri Porphyrios (2004) and Leon Krier (2003). Henry Hope
 Reed Recipients include: Edward Perry Bass (2007), David Morton (2006), and
 Henry Hope Reed (2005).

SOURCE University of Notre Dame School of Architecture

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.


PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.