ECPA Announces 2006 Christian Book Awards Winners

Outstanding Books Honored in Six New Categories

Jul 11, 2006, 01:00 ET from Evangelical Christian Publishers Association

    DENVER, July 11 /PRNewswire/ -- The Evangelical Christian Publishers
 Association (ECPA) today announced the winners for the 2006 Christian Book
 Awards during the International Christian Retail Show (ICRS) convention.
 Presented annually to the finest in Christian publishing since 1978
 (originally as the Gold Medallion Awards), the 2006 Christian Book Awards
 recognize excellence in six categories:
     Bibles -- The Message Numbered Edition by Eugene H. Peterson (NavPress,
     ISBN 1576836738, Pub Date: October 2005)
     Bible Reference & Study -- Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of
     the Bible, Kevin J. Vanhoozer, General Editor (Baker Academic -- A
     Division of Baker Publishing Group, ISBN 0801026946, Pub Date: November
     Christian Life -- A Sacred Sorrow by Michael Card (NavPress, ISBN
     1576836673, Pub Date: February 2005)
     Children & Youth -- Teen Virtue by Vicki Courtney (B&H Publishing Group,
     ISBN 0805430563, Pub Date: April 2005)
     Fiction -- The Ezekiel Option by Joel Rosenberg (Tyndale House Publishers,
     ISBN 1414303432, Pub Date: July 2005)
     Inspiration & Gift -- Coach Wooden's Pyramid of Success by John Wooden and
     Jay Carty (Regal, ISBN 0830736794, Pub Date: March 2005)
     The 2006 Christian Book of the Year, awarded to the overall
 highest-ranking book among category winners, is Dictionary for Theological
 Interpretation of the Bible, edited by Kevin J. Vanhoozer. This book won a
 2006 Christianity Today Book Awards earlier this year in the Biblical
 Studies category. Editors at Christianity Today called the dictionary "a
 landmark volume for the church's engagement with Scripture."
     "These six winners represent the wide variety of excellent books
 available from Christian publishers," says Mark Kuyper, President of ECPA.
 "From contemporary page-turner fiction to significant theological works,
 the Christian Book Awards recognize the best within our industry. ECPA
 publishers are producing more varied and sophisticated titles than ever
 before, as proven by this list of winners."
     Early this year, ECPA announced that the Gold Medallion Awards had been
 renamed and were being completely revised in all areas -- from title
 nominations to the judging process to the number of categories offered.
 ECPA president Mark Kuyper believes the re-design is positioned to increase
 exposure and book sales for the winning titles and authors.
     Major retailers have agreed to significantly promote the 2006 Christian
 Book Awards winners. The Parable Group, one of the largest associations of
 independent Christian retailers, has agreed to in-store merchandising,
 dedicated advertising space in its 2006 catalogs and significant web
 promotion. Barnes & Noble will be featuring all six winners in selected
 stores during August 2006. Other national retail outlets committed to
 in-store and consumer promotions of the 2006 Christian Book Awards include
 LifeWay Christian Stores, Family Christian Stores, Lemstone Christian
 Stores, Berean Christian Stores and CBD/
     Christianity Today Inc. (CTi) has committed to a significant promotion
 of the 2006 Christian Book Awards via its print publications and consumer
 website. CTi has offered magazine advertisements this fall-at no cost-in
 ten consumer publications (such as Christianity Today, Today's Christian
 Woman and Today's Christian) to announce the award winning titles. The
 value of these advertising spots totals more than $78,000 and will reach
 nearly 2.1 million readers. Additionally, CTi's award-winning consumer
 website,, will promote the 2006 Christian Book
 Awards. attracts more than 2 million unique visitors
 and delivers 12 million page views each month.
     The Christian Book Awards, established by the Evangelical Christian
 Publishers Association in 1978 as the Gold Medallion Book Awards,
 recognizes the absolute highest quality in Christian books. Based on
 excellence in content, literary quality, design, and significance of
 contribution, the Christian Book Awards are among the oldest and most
 prestigious awards programs in the religious publishing industry.
     The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) is an
 international non-profit trade organization, comprised of 260 member
 companies worldwide, representing a combined revenue of more than $2.3
 billion. Founded in 1974, ECPA is dedicated to serving the Christian
 publishing industry through equipping its members through cutting-edge
 technology, meaningful data, dynamic educational opportunity and
 unprecedented access to markets.
     For more information about ECPA, contact us at: 480-966-3998 phone,
 480-966-1944 fax, 9633 South 48th Street, Suite 140, Phoenix, Arizona

SOURCE Evangelical Christian Publishers Association