EEMBC Networking Workgroup Elects Raghib Hussain, CTO of Cavium Networks, as New Chair

Dec 13, 2007, 00:00 ET from EEMBC

    EL DORADO HILLS, Calif., Dec. 13 /PRNewswire-FirstCall/ -- The Embedded
 Microprocessor Benchmark Consortium today announced that Muhammad Raghib
 Hussain of Cavium Networks (Nasdaq:   CAVM) will lead the development of
 EEMBC's next generation of networking benchmarks as chair of the
 Consortium's Networking Subcommittee.
     The EEMBC Networking Subcommittee is the working group responsible for
 EEMBC's Networking benchmark software suites, which allow users to evaluate
 the performance of processors tasked with moving packets in networking
 applications. Networking Version 3.0, which is now under development, will
 expand to include applications that target the telecommunications market.
 The new benchmarks will use scenario-based benchmarking techniques and will
 target applications in both the control and data planes, allowing a
 system-level view of packet processing performance that can be applied to a
 wide range of platforms.
     "Raghib's wide-ranging knowledge and experience in the industry, which
 encompasses the perspectives both of OEMs and suppliers of networking
 processors, superbly qualify him to lead the development of EEMBC's next
 generation of networking benchmarks," said EEMBC President Markus Levy. "We
 are very pleased indeed to have him on board and to include Cavium Networks
 among EEMBC's members."
     "Cavium Networks multicore MIPS64 processors have been adopted by
 several tier-1 networking OEM customers," said Mr. Hussain, Chief
 Technology Officer and Vice President of Software & System Engineering at
 Cavium Networks. "I look forward to bringing our experience to EEMBC and
 working with industry peers to develop standard benchmarks that will enable
 OEMs to quickly and reliably measure the performance of a broad set of
 multicore networking processors in the context of real-world applications."
     Muhammad Raghib Hussain is the Chief Technology Officer and Vice
 President of Software Engineering at Cavium Networks. Prior to Cavium
 Networks, Raghib held senior technical roles in several startups and large
 organizations including Cisco Systems. Raghib was a founding team member of
 VPNet (acquired by Avaya), where he was a key contributor in the design of
 one of the first commercial IPSec-based VPN (Virtual Private Network)
 gateways. Raghib earned a Bachelor of Science in Computer Systems from NED
 University, and a Master of Science in Computer Engineering from San Jose
 State University. Raghib has been a speaker in several major communication
 and networking conferences and has several patents in the field of
 networking and security.
     About EEMBC
     EEMBC, the Embedded Microprocessor Benchmark Consortium, develops and
 certifies real-world benchmarks and benchmark scores to help designers
 select the right embedded processors for their systems. Every processor
 submitted for EEMBC benchmarking is tested for parameters representing
 different workloads and capabilities in communications, networking,
 consumer, office automation, automotive/industrial, embedded Java, and
 network storage-related applications. With members including leading
 semiconductor, intellectual
     property, and compiler companies, EEMBC establishes benchmark standards
 and provides certified benchmarking results through the EEMBC Technology
     EEMBC's members include Adaptec, Altera, AMD, Analog Devices, ARC
 International, ARM, Broadcom, Cavium Networks, CEVA, Code Sourcery, Cypress
 Semiconductor, esmertec, Faraday, Freescale Semiconductor, Fujitsu
 Microelectronics, Green Hills Software, IAR Systems AB, IBM, Imagination
 Technologies, Improv Systems, Infineon Technologies, Intel, LSI Logic,
 Marvell Semiconductor, Matsushita Electric Industrial, Mentor Graphics,
 Microchip Technology, MIPS Technologies, National Instruments, NEC
 Electronics, Netcleus Systems, Nokia, NXP Semiconductors, Oki Electric
 Industry Co, PA Semi, Qualcomm, Realtek Semiconductor, Red Hat, Renesas
 Technology, Sony Computer Entertainment, ST Microelectronics, Sun
 Microsystems, Tensilica, Texas Instruments, Toshiba, VIA Technologies, and
 Wind River Systems.
     EEMBC is a registered trademark of the Embedded Microprocessor
 Benchmark Consortium. All other trademarks appearing herein are the
 property of their respective owners.