Governor Rendell Leads Recipients of Green Power Awards

Annual Event Honors Businesses, Institutions, Individuals for Leadership

Wednesday, November 2, 2005 from 12 noon - 2 pm

The Hilton Inn at Penn, 3600 Sansom Street in Philadelphia

Oct 28, 2005, 01:00 ET from PennFuture

    PHILADELPHIA, Oct. 28 /PRNewswire/ -- As consumers face exploding heating
 bills and the price of oil, natural gas and coal going up from 100 to 600
 percent over the last 5 years, Citizens for Pennsylvania's Future (PennFuture)
 will honor those individuals and companies that are producing and using the
 energy technologies of the future at its sixth annual Green Power Awards on
 Wednesday, November 2, 2005 from 12 noon -- 2 pm at The Hilton Inn at Penn,
 3600 Sansom Street, in Philadelphia.
     Thirty individuals, private industries, government agencies and public
 interest organizations that are making Pennsylvania and the Mid-Atlantic
 Region a thriving renewable energy market will be honored at the luncheon. A
 special award is being given to Pennsylvania Governor Edward G. Rendell, for
 his leadership in passing of the groundbreaking renewable energy legislation,
 the Alternative Energy Portfolio Standards Act of 2004.
     "This year's array of winners illustrates the depth and breadth of support
 for green power in Pennsylvania," said John Hanger, president and CEO of
 PennFuture. "From the policymakers of both parties who passed our landmark new
 energy law to the purchases, sellers and supporters of clean renewable energy,
 our awardees prove that renewable energy is not only the energy of the future
 -- it is a true growth industry for our state."
     In addition to Governor Rendell, individuals and organizations receiving
 the awards include:
     * Green Power Policymakers of the Year:
         * Representative Chris Ross (R-Chester);
         * Senator Edwin 'Ted' Erickson (R-Delaware);
         * Representative Michael Veon (D-Beaver);
         * Representative William F. Adolph, Jr. (R-Delaware;
     * Green Power Purchasers of the Year (Large Businesses):
         * Alcoa, the Pittsburgh-based Fortune 100 company, which purchased 100
           percent renewable energy for its four corporate offices;
         * PECO Energy of Philadelphia, which purchased 10 percent of the
           company headquarters' electricity needs from wind power;
         * GlaxoSmithKline, for purchasing 10 percent PECO WIND for the
           company's Philadelphia office building;
         * Aqua America, for purchasing 100 percent wind power for the
           company's headquarters and two other administrative buildings in
           Bryn Mawr;
         * Pennsylvania-American Water Company, for purchasing 100 percent wind
           power for its Yardley plant;
     * Green Power Purchasers of the Year (Small Businesses):
         * Idyll, Ltd., the Media-based travel agency, for purchasing 100
           percent renewable energy;
         * Ternary Software, Inc. of Exton, for purchasing 100 percent wind
         * Rx Restaurant of University City in Philadelphia, for purchasing 50
           percent wind power;
         * Chloe Restaurant of Old City neighborhood of Philadelphia, for
           purchasing 50 percent wind power;
         * Levin Furniture, for installing a solar-powered roofing system that
           provides 10 percent of the Monroeville (Allegheny County) store's
           electricity needs;
         * Camphill Village Kimberton Hills, an eastern Pennsylvania farming
           and handcrafting community that includes adults with developmental
           disabilities, for installation of an 8.3kW solar photovoltaic system
           on a newly constructed garage;
     * Green Power Purchaser of the Year (Religious Organizations):
         * Convent of Divine Love of the Holy Spirit Adoration Sisters, for
           purchasing 100 percent wind power for their Philadelphia convent;
     * Green Power Purchaser of the Year (State and Local Government):
         * Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
           (DCNR), for purchasing 1.36 million kWh of wind power for the new
           Tom Ridge Environmental Center in Erie;
         * Indiana Township (Allegheny County), for installing a five-kilowatt
           solar facility at the Indiana Township Municipal Plaza;
     * Green Power Educational Institutions of the Year:
         * St. Francis University in Loretto (Cambria County) for the Center
           for Collaborative Conservation and the Wind WATCH (Wind Assessment
           Technology for Communities and Homeowners) program;
         * Lutherlyn Environmental Education Program in Prospect (Butler
           County) for its environmental education program, and for Terra Dei
           Homestead, its green model home;
         * Radnor Township School District in Wayne, for the new solar
           photovoltaic system installed on Radnor Elementary School;
     * Green Power Awards for Contributions to Wind Power Development:
         * Gamesa Corporation, the Spanish energy technology company for
           investing in Pennsylvania, locating its North American operations in
           the Keystone State;
         * Community Energy, Inc. of Wayne, for its commitment in bringing wind
           energy to Pennsylvania, most recently the Bear Creek Wind Farm;
     * Green Power Award for Contributions to Solar Power Development:
         * MESA Environment Sciences, Inc. of Malvern, for leadership in the
           installation of solar power, including the solar array on the
           Pennsylvania Governor's residence;
     * Green Power Award for Contributions to Biodigester Power Development:
         * Schrack Farms of Greene Township, Clinton County, for leading the
           way to produce green power from animal manure with a state-of-the-
           art biodigester;
     * Green Power Award for Contributions to Biomass Power Development;
         * Suez Energy Northumberland Cogeneration Facility in Northumberland
           County, which is producing 16 MW of green power and steam from clean
           wood chip sources;
     * Green Power Award for Contributions to Biodiesel Power Development:
         * Energy Cooperative Association of Pennsylvania (ECAP), for providing
           the city of Philadelphia with biodiesel heating oil and
           transportation products;
     * Green Power Finance Award:
         * Rob Sanders and Roger Clark of The Reinvestment Fund's Sustainable
           Development Fund in Philadelphia, for leadership in creating new
           financial opportunities in the renewable energy markets in
           Pennsylvania, particular in wind and solar energy.
     The Green Power Awards luncheon is open to the public and the media. The
 cost of the lunch is $20; PennFuture members may attend for $15. Reservations
 are required, and can be made online at or by
 calling 800-321-7775 (outside of Pennsylvania, call 717-214-7920).

SOURCE PennFuture