Indiana Authors Recognized and Honored Literary contributions of today's home-grown Hoosier greats celebrated by Indiana libraries, authors and foundations

INDIANAPOLIS, Nov. 22, 2010 /PRNewswire/ -- James Whitcomb Riley. Kurt Vonnegut. Ernie Pyle. James Alexander Thom. These recognizable names and others demonstrate the best of Indiana's influence on the nation's literary landscape – up until now. Presented last month, the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award named three additional authors with Indiana ties to the list of the state's literary greats.


After hundreds of nominations were received from the public and reviewed by a prestigious statewide panel, three authors emerged as shining examples of what Indiana continues to offer readers. On October 9, the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library Foundation presented the National Author award to Scott Russell Sanders while Ray Boomhower received the Regional Author award and Greg Schwipps received the Emerging Author award, thanks to the generosity of The Glick Fund, a fund of the Central Indiana Community Foundation.

"We're thrilled at the continued success of the awards program," said Danny R. Dean, president of the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library Foundation. "Indiana has a rich tradition in cultivating talented authors, which is clearly demonstrated by this year's awards. And special thanks to the Glick family for their ongoing willingness to help us showcase Indiana authors."

The Awards Program included a public program celebrating Indiana authors attended by 650 participants and an Award Dinner, which raised $64,000 for the Library Foundation. Award-winning authors, along with their hometown Indiana libraries, each received grants ranging from $2,500 - $10,000.

"My wife and I moved to Indiana in 1971, and ever since our arrival I have grounded my writing in this place, hoping through my books to reach my neighbors as well as readers across America," said Sanders. "So I feel deeply honored to be named this year's National Author winner. Like many writers, I entered the world of books through the doors of public libraries. So it gives me special pleasure that this award comes from the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library Foundation."  

The Call for Nominations for the 2011 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award will commence early next year. To learn more, contact the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library Foundation at (317) 275-4700 or visit

Members of the Glick Family are some of the most generous philanthropists in Indiana. In addition to establishing the Indiana Authors Award with the Library Foundation, Glick charitable funds have invested substantially in Indiana educational institutions, arts organizations, hospitals and the Pro-100 program, a leadership program for underprivileged youth.

The Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library Foundation supports and enhances programs, services, and facilities of the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library through advocacy, fundraising and stewardship for its early literacy programs, homework assistance, workforce development and technologies, including a variety of online library resources.

SOURCE Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library Foundation


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.


PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.