ISI Announces 2006 Templeton Enterprise Award Winners

Feb 14, 2007, 00:00 ET from Intercollegiate Studies Institute

    WILMINGTON, Del., Feb. 14 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Intercollegiate Studies Institute (ISI), a national educational organization headquartered in Wilmington, DE, is pleased to announce the winners of the 2006 Templeton Enterprise Awards, presented annually to scholars under forty who have produced the very best books and articles in the field of humane economics and culture over the past two years. The Templeton Enterprise Awards are some of the largest in the publishing industry, with almost $100,000 in total prize money up for grabs, the top book author garnering $50,000 in prize money, and the top article author $25,000.     This year's winners are a diverse group of intellectuals who represent a wide variety of approaches to the study of economics, culture, and their dynamic relationship in our age of globalization. They received their prizes last night at a special awards dinner at the Princeton Club of New York City which featured keynote speaker Dr. Bruce Cole, chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities.  Here are the 2006 Templeton Enterprise Award winners:      1st Place Book       The Church and the Market (Lexington Books, 2005)                          Thomas E. Woods Jr., senior fellow in history, The                          Ludwig von Mises Institute      2nd Place            Cowboy Capitalism (CATO Books, 2004)                          Olaf Gersemann, foreign news editor, the                          Financial Times Deutschland      3rd Place            The Ethics of the Market (Palgrave Macmillan, 2005)                          John Meadowcroft, professor of public policy, King's                          College, London.      1st Place Article    "Mises, Bastiat, Public Opinion and Public Choice"                          Review of Political Economy, 2005.                          Bryan Caplan, professor of economics, George Mason                          University & Edward Stringham, professor of                          economics, San Jose State University      2nd Place            "Another Social Justice Tradition," University of St.                          Thomas Law Journal, 2005.                          Kevin Schmiesing, research fellow, The Acton                          Institute      3rd Place            "What Makes a Market Economy," New Political Economy,                          June 2005.                          Matthew Watson, professor of political economy,                          University of Warwick, UK     For more information about the Templeton Enterprise Awards, including opportunities for interviews with this year's awardees, please contact the program's director, Dr. Rich Brake, at (800) 526-7022 ext. 123 or Further details on ISI's Culture of Enterprise Initiative can be found at     Contact: Caitlin Anderson               (800) 526-7022 x168       

SOURCE Intercollegiate Studies Institute