Join In and Win! Tune Into the American Veteran Awards on The History Channel

Feb 08, 2002, 00:00 ET from American Veterans Awards

    BEVERLY HILLS, Calif., Feb. 8 /PRNewswire/ -- Who is the most decorated
 American hero to receive 33 military awards?  What is the highest military
 award for bravery called?  Find out the answers to these questions and more.
 Test your military wits and 'Join In and Win' for your chance to win a trip to
 the 8th annual American Veteran Awards (AVA.)
     Here's how to play:  Watch the 2001 American Veteran Awards on The History
 Channel, Sunday, February 10, 2002 at 7pm ET/PT, 6pm CT and 8pm MT (check
 local and satellite listings.)  Then log on and click "Join In
 and Win" to enter the contest.
     AVA honors our past, present and future military.  The show features
 Hollywood celebrities joining forces with the military and prominent leaders
 in our communities to promote and honor veterans, lifting America's spirit and
 strengthening patriotism.
     Four-time Emmy award-winning actor Dennis Franz is the 2002 recipient of
 the "Veteran of the Year Award."
     Franz says, "I am truly touched to be chosen as this year's recipient of
 the Veteran of the Year award.  I salute those who have been or are now a part
 of our armed forces protecting the rights and the freedoms of this country on
 which it was founded."
     The First Lady Laura Bush receives the "Woman of Honor" award for her
 dedication to the Department of Defense program, "Troops to Teachers."  The
 First Lady commented, "I have a special appreciation for everyone who has
 served in our nation's armed forces and for another group of incredible public
 servants -- teachers."
     Other highlights:
     --  Montel Williams, U.S. Navy Veteran is master of ceremonies.
     --  Robert De Niro will receive the first ever "Audie Murphy Theatrical"
     --  Terry Bradshaw presents Sam Donaldson with the "Ernie Pyle Journalism"
     --  Gary Sinise reads an excerpt from the best-selling book "Chicken Soup
         for the Veteran's Soul."
     --  James Hyde, a U.S. Army veteran and star of NBC's Passions, delivers a
         patriotic message.
     --  Mark-Paul Gosselaar introduces Veteran of the Year Dennis Franz
     --  Michael Bolton, Randy Travis, USAF Band of the Golden West and others
         will perform
     Information about the show and contest may also be viewed at .
                     MAKE YOUR OPINION COUNT -  Click Here

SOURCE American Veterans Awards