Julia Roberts and Will Smith Each Take Two Trophies at Fourth Annual Blockbuster Entertainment Awards(R)

Nicolas Cage, Howard Stern, Janet Jackson, Rupert Everett, Neve Campbell,

Chris O'Donnell, Garth Brooks, and Mariah Carey Also Among Winners

Mar 10, 1998, 00:00 ET from Blockbuster Entertainment

    HOLLYWOOD, Calif., March 10 /PRNewswire/ -- Julia Roberts and Will Smith
 each went home with two trophies as the Blockbuster Entertainment Awards(R)
 hosted its fourth annual ceremony today from the Pantages Theatre in
 Hollywood.  The two-hour star-studded entertainment special aired live
 tonight, Tuesday, March 10th (8:00-10:00 p.m. ET) on UPN.
     The Fourth Annual Blockbuster Entertainment Award winners include:
    Favorite Actor -- Comedy
    Jim Carrey, "Liar Liar"
    Favorite Actress -- Comedy
    Julia Roberts, "My Best Friend's Wedding"
    Favorite Actor -- Action/Adventure
    Nicolas Cage, Face/Off & Con Air
    Favorite Actress -- Action/Adventure
    Linda Hamilton, "Dante's Peak"
    Favorite Actor -- Suspense
    Mel Gibson, "Conspiracy Theory"
    Favorite Actress -- Suspense
    Julia Roberts, "Conspiracy Theory"
    Favorite Actor -- Science Fiction
    Will Smith, "Men In Black"
    Favorite Actress -- Science Fiction
    Uma Thurman, "Batman & Robin"
    Favorite Actress -- Drama
    Kate Winslet, "Titanic"
    Favorite Actor -- Newcomer
    Howard Stern, "Private Parts"
    Favorite Actor -- Family Film
    Robin Williams, "Flubber"
    Favorite Actress -- Newcomer
    Jennifer Love Hewitt, "I Know What You Did Last Summer"
    Favorite Actor -- Horror
    David Arquette, "Scream"
    Favorite Actress -- Horror
    Neve Campbell, "Scream
    Favorite Actor -- Drama
    Leonardo DiCaprio, "Titanic"
    Favorite Family Film -- Animated
    Favorite Supporting Actor -- Comedy
    Rupert Everett, "My Best Friend's Wedding"
    Favorite Supporting Actress -- Comedy
    Cameron Diaz, "My Best Friend's Wedding"
    Favorite Supporting Actor -- Action/Adventure
    John Cusack, "Con Air"
    Favorite Supporting Actress -- Action/Adventure
    Glenn Close, "Air Force One"
    Favorite Supporting Actor -- Suspense
    Patrick Stewart, "Conspiracy Theory"
    Favorite Supporting Actress -- Suspense
    Kathleen Quinlan, "Breakdown"
    Favorite Supporting Actor -- Science Fiction
    Chris O'Donnell, "Batman & Robin"
    Favorite Supporting Actress -- Science Fiction
    Winona Ryder, "Alien Resurrection"
    Favorite Supporting Actor -- Drama
    Billy Zane, "Titanic"
    Favorite Supporting Actress -- Drama
    Kathy Bates, "Titanic"
    Favorite Supporting Actor -- Horror
    Jamie Kennedy, "Scream 2"
    Favorite Supporting Actress -- Horror
    Sarah Michelle Gellar, "I Know What You Did Last Summer"
    Favorite CD
    Jewel, "Pieces of You"
    Favorite Group -- Classic Rock
    Aerosmith, "Nine Lives"
    Favorite Duo or Group -- Country
    Brooks & Dunn, "Greatest Hits Collection"
    Favorite Female Artist -- Country
    Leann Rimes, "Unchained Melody: The Early Years"
    Favorite Male Artist -- Country
    Garth Brooks, "Sevens"
    Favorite Female Artist -- R&B
    Janet Jackson, "The Velvet Rope"
    Favorite Group -- R&B
    Boyz II Men, "Evolution"
    Favorite Group -- Rap
    Bone Thugs-N-Harmony, "The Art of War"
    Favorite Group -- Modern Rock
    Sugar Ray, "Floored"
    Favorite New Group
    Matchbox 20, "Yourself or Someone Like You"
    Favorite Soundtrack
    Will Smith, "Men In Black"
    Favorite Female Artist -- Pop
    Mariah Carey, "Butterfly"
    Favorite New Artist -- Female
    Meredith Brooks, "Blurring the Edges"
    Filmmaker Award
    Robert Duvall
    Favorite Male Artist -- Rap
    Puff Daddy, "No Way Out"
    World Artist Award
    Arnold Schwarzenegger
    Favorite Group -- Pop
    Spice Girls, "Spice & Spice World"
     Presenters included Kevin Bacon, Halle Berry, Beau Bridges, Kobe Bryant,
 Neve Campbell, Joan Cusack, Fran Drescher, Minnie Driver, Anthony Edwards,
 Rupert Everett, Gina Gershon, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Jamie Kennedy, Michelle
 Kwan, Heather Locklear, Jada Pinkett Smith, Kathleen Quinlan, Denise Richards,
 Laura San Giacomo, Gary Sinise, Ben Stiller, Jennifer Tilly, Jean Claude Van
 Damme, Vanessa Williams, Billy Zane and music group Sugar Ray.
     Special live performances included Boyz II Men, Garth Brooks, Mariah Carey
 and Savage Garden.
     Winners were determined by voting kiosks, which were available at
 Blockbuster Video and Blockbuster Music stores from December 22nd, 1997
 through January 10th, 1998.  All told, this year consumers cast more than 11
 million votes in over 32 categories, making the Blockbuster Entertainment
 Awards(R) the largest publicly voted entertainment awards ever.
     For the third consecutive year, the Blockbuster Entertainment Awards was
 broadcast on UPN from the historic Pantages Theatre in Hollywood, CA.  Veteran
 television producer Ken Ehrlich (Grammy Awards, Emmy Awards and VH1 Honors)
 and Michelle Wilkinson, vice president of marketing, Blockbuster, executive
 produced this year's show.  In addition, Emmy Award-winning writer-producer
 Cort Casady acted as supervising producer, Michael Levitt and Angela Fairhurst
 produced and Bruce Gowers directed.
     Blockbuster operates approximately 6,000 video and music neighborhood
 entertainment stores in the United States, its territories and 25 countries
 and may be accessed internationally at www.blockbuster.com.  Blockbuster is a
 unit of Viacom Inc., one of the world's largest entertainment and publishing
 companies and a leading force in nearly every segment of the international
 media marketplace.  UPN is 50% owned by Viacom.

SOURCE Blockbuster Entertainment