Keller Reelected State Leader of AFL-CIO's Largest Union

Apr 20, 1998, 01:00 ET from AFSCME Council 13

    HARRISBURG, Pa., April 20 /PRNewswire/ -- Edward J. Keller has been
 unanimously reelected to an unprecedented seventh consecutive term as state
 leader of the largest AFL-CIO union, the American Federation of State, County
 and Municipal Employees (AFSCME).  AFSCME represents approximately 95,000
 public employees and health care workers in Pennsylvania.  More than 500
 delegates to AFSCME Council 13's 25th Anniversary Convention, April 18-19,
 Philadelphia, PA, unanimously reelected Keller.
     Keller was first elected Council 13 Executive Director in 1981, and
 reelected in 1983, 1986, 1989, 1992, 1995, and 1998.
     In 1996, he was reelected to his fifth consecutive term as a Vice
 President of AFSCME's International Union, which represents more than
 1.3 million public employees and health care workers nationwide.
     Keller is Chairman of the PA Public Employees Health and Welfare Fund;
 Chairman of the PA Employees Benefit Trust Fund; a member of the PA State
 Employes' Retirement Board; Co-Chair of the PA AFL-CIO Community Services
 Committee; a member of the Governor's Economic Development Partnership
 Committee on Health Care; a member of the PA Dept. of Labor and Industry's
 Safety and Health Advisory Board; a member of the Governor's Office of Citizen
 Service (PennSERVE) Community Service Advisory Board; and a member of the Penn
 State University Labor Advisory Committee.
     Council 13 members also elected a new president, Randy Rush (a resident of
 Washington, PA), and reelected:  Secretary, Barbara Widner (Berlin, Somerset
 County); Treasurer, James Byrnes (Mehoopany, Wyoming County); and Executive
 Board Members, Barbara Cooper (West Chester) and Georgi Galen (Lancaster).
 They also elected new Executive Board Members:  Melvin McCraw, Sr.
 (Harrisburg), Gail Jakobowski (Fairview, Erie County), and Alan Redding
 (Hanover, York County); and Trustees: Pay Coyne (Pittsburgh), Virginia Smith
 (Williamsport), Jackie Marshall (Pittsburgh), and Ron Whitmoyer (Wernersville,
 Berks County).