Linda Ronstadt's 1969-1974 Capitol Records Solo Output Presented in New 2-CD Collection, 'The Best Of Linda Ronstadt: The Capitol Years'

New 47-Track Package Includes Ronstadt's Four Capitol Albums: 'Hand Sown ...

Home Grown,' 'Silk Purse,' 'Linda Ronstadt' and 'Heart Like A Wheel,' Plus

Five Previously Unreleased Studio Recordings and Concert Performances

In Stores: January 24, 2006

Nov 08, 2005, 00:00 ET from Capitol/EMI Music Catalog Marketing

    HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Nov. 8 /PRNewswire/ -- Linda Ronstadt's four seminal
 Capitol Records solo albums from 1969 to 1974 have been collected for the
 first time in a new 2-CD package, "The Best Of Linda Ronstadt: The Capitol
 Years."  Due in stores on January 24, the 47-track collection from Capitol/EMI
 Music Catalog Marketing includes "Hand Sown ...  Home Grown," "Silk Purse,"
 "Linda Ronstadt" and "Heart Like A Wheel" in their entirety, as well as
 five previously unreleased studio recordings and concert performances.
     A leading figure in California's country/folk movement of the late 1960s,
 Linda Ronstadt began her musical career with the Stone Poneys, releasing
 three Capitol albums with the folk group before striking out on her own with
 the 1969 release of her solo debut, "Hand Sown ...  Home Grown."  Eager to
 invoke her abilities as a country singer, she tore passionately into
 Nashville-spawned songs like "Break My Mind" and "The Only Mama That'll Walk
 The Line."
     "Silk Purse" followed in 1970, still showcasing Ronstadt's country and
 honkytonk prowess, while also stepping into new territory with the
 gracefully-arranged pop ballad, "Long Long Time" (#25 Pop), earning her first
 Grammy nomination.  She tapped Elliot Mazer to produce "Silk Purse,"
 recommended by Janis Joplin, who'd worked with him on her "Cheap Thrills"
 album.  Disc 1 of "The Best Of Linda Ronstadt: The Capitol Years" is comprised
 of these first two solo albums and three previously unreleased bonus tracks,
 "It Won't Be Easy" (an outtake from the "Hand Sown ...  Home Grown" sessions),
 "He Darked The Sun (Nashville Version)" (an outtake from the "Silk Purse"
 sessions), and "Orange Blossom Special" (recorded live at the Troubadour in
     Ronstadt's convivial associations within the thriving Los Angeles
 folk/rock music scene often resulted in collaborative gold.  For her 1971
 self-titled album, Ronstadt enlisted producer John Boylan and some
 rock-leaning session musicians from the L.A. scene, Glenn Frey, Don Henley,
 Bernie Leadon, and Randy Meisner, who would later form the Eagles.  They
 collaborated on an eclectic selection of country and pop/rock songs, including
 tracks written by Eric Anderson, Jackson Browne and Neil Young, illuminating
 Ronstadt's versatility as a vocalist and a performer.  "Linda Ronstadt" peaked
 at #35 on Billboard's Country Albums chart and Browne's "Rock Me On The Water"
 reached Billboard's Top 100 Pop Singles chart.
     1974's "Heart Like A Wheel" was Ronstadt's breakout smash, topping both
 the Pop and Country Albums charts.  She topped the Pop Singles chart with the
 #1 hit "You're No Good," doling out a powerful vocal and lyrical lashing.  For
 this album, she partnered with producer Peter Asher and recorded a variety of
 standards and contemporary hits in creative new arrangements with several Los
 Angeles session musicians.  Ronstadt won her first of seven Grammy Awards for
 Best Female Country Vocal Performance with "I Can't Help It (If I'm Still In
 Love With You)," which also reached #2 on the Country Singles chart.  "When
 Will I Be Loved" hit #1 on the Country Singles chart and also reached #2 on
 the Pop Singles chart and #3 on the Adult Contemporary Singles chart, further
 cementing Ronstadt's enduring widespread appeal.
     Disc 2 of "The Best Of Linda Ronstadt: The Capitol Years" pairs Linda
 Ronstadt with "Heart Like A Wheel" and adds three bonus tracks, including
 two previously unreleased live recordings, "Kate" and "Long Long Time," and
 making its CD debut is "Can It Be True," the b-side to "I Fall To Pieces."
     Linda Ronstadt continues to record and tour, regularly performing to
 sold-out audiences.
      "The Best Of Linda Ronstadt: The Capitol Years:"
      (2-CD TRT = 3:33:20)
      Tracks 1-11 from LP "Hand Sown ...  Home Grown" (1969)
      Tracks 13-22 from LP "Silk Purse" (1970)
      1)  Baby You've Been On My Mind
      2)  Silver Threads & Golden Needles
      3)  Bet No One Ever Hurt This Bad
      4)  A Number And A Name
      5)  The Only Mama That'll Walk The Line
      6)  The Long Way Around
      7)  Break My Mind
      8)  I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
      9)  It's About Time
      10) We Need A Whole Lot More Of Jesus (And A Lot Less Rock & Roll)
      11) The Dolphins
      12) It Won't Be Easy [prev. unreleased: "Hand Sown ...  Home Grown"
      13) Lovesick Blues
      14) Are My Thoughts With You?
      15) Will You Love Me Tomorrow?
      16) Nobody's
      17) Louise
      18) Long Long Time
      19) Mental Revenge
      20) I'm Leavin' It All Up To You
      21) He Darked The Sun
      22) Life Is Like A Mountain Railway
      23) He Darked The Sun (Nashville Version) [prev. unreleased: "Silk Purse"
      24) Orange Blossom Special [prev. unreleased: recorded live at The
          Troubadour, L.A., July '71]
      Tracks 1-10 from the LP "Linda Ronstadt" (1971)
      Tracks 14-23 from the LP "Heart Like A Wheel" (1974)
      1)  Rock Me On The Water
      2)  Crazy Arms
      3)  I Won't Be Hangin' 'Round
      4)  I Still Miss Someone
      5)  In My Reply
      6)  I Fall To Pieces
      7)  Ramblin' Round
      8)  Birds
      9)  I Ain't Always Been Faithful
      10) Rescue Me
      11) Can It Be True [prev. unreleased on CD: b-side to "I Fall To Pieces"
      12) Long Long Time [prev. unreleased: recorded live at The Troubadour,
          L.A., July '71]
      13) Kate [prev. unreleased: recorded live at The Troubadour, L.A., July
      14) You're No Good
      15) It Doesn't Matter Anymore
      16) Faithless Love
      17) The Dark End Of The Street
      18) Heart Is Like A Wheel
      19) When Will I Be Loved
      20) Willing
      21) I Can't Help It (If I'm Still In Love With You)
      22) Keep Me From Blowing Away
      23) You Can Close Your Eyes

SOURCE Capitol/EMI Music Catalog Marketing