Metropolitan Opera Soprano Monica Yunus, Daughter of 2006 Nobel Peace Prize Winner, to Perform at Nobel Concert Dec. 11, 2006, in Oslo, Norway

    NEW YORK, Dec. 5 /PRNewswire/ -- Monica Yunus, daughter of this year's
 Nobel Peace Prize winner Professor Muhammad Yunus, will perform in an
 all-star cast for the annual Nobel Peace Prize Concert honoring her father
 on Monday, December 11, in Oslo, Norway.
     Ms. Yunus is a soprano with the Metropolitan Opera. The 29-year-old
 American singer will perform in a program hosted by Sharon Stone and
 Anjelica Huston and featuring performances by world-renowned acts including
 Yusuf Islam (formerly Cat Stevens), Lionel Richie, John Legend, Rihanna,
 Paulina Rubio, Wynonna, Simply Red, Hakim, Renee Fleming, and Morten Abel.
     The Norwegian Nobel Committee awarded the Peace Prize to Professor
 Yunus and Grameen Bank, which he founded in Bangladesh in 1983, for their
 efforts to created economic and social development from below. The Nobel
 Committee said, "The award is given annually to an individual whose
 humanitarian efforts exemplify a spirit of generosity and leadership that
 will help spread the positive message manifested by the Nobel Peace Prize
 throughout the world." It said Yunus' Grameen Bank provided innovative
 microcredit program that advanced the cause of economic and social
 development in Bangladesh and beyond.
     Monica Yunus consistently receives favorable musical reviews. She
 debuted at the Metropolitan Opera in the 2003-2004 season and has been a
 featured performer in noteworthy operas, recitals and concerts in the
 United States and abroad. During the 2006-2007 season, Ms. Yunus will
 return to the Metropolitan Opera in the role of Papagena in Die Zauberflote
 and will sing Zemire in Zemire et Amore with Arizona Opera and Lucia in the
 North American premiere of Riccardo Zandonai's La Farsa Amorosa with Teatro
 Grattacielo at Alice Tully Hall in New York City. She also will return to
 The Spoleto Festival USA and perform in recital under the auspices of The
 Marilyn Horne Foundation. For additional information, visit
 www.monicayunus.com and www.singforhope.org, the non-profit organization
 she co-directs, which encourages social change by uniting artists to host
 benefit concerts.
     To view the 2006 Nobel Peace Prize ceremony live from Oslo on December
 10th, visit www.nobelprize.org (live ceremony 1 p.m. Oslo, 7 a.m. EST, 6
 a.m. CST, 5 a.m. MST, 4 a.m. PST).
 
 

SOURCE Global Communicators

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

 

PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.