Morley Safer to Host 64th Annual Peabody Awards Ceremony at Waldorf=Astoria on May 16; Winners to Be Announced April 7 During Special Satellite Feed from New York's Museum of Television and Radio

Mar 17, 2005, 00:00 ET from Peabody Awards

    ATHENS, Ga., March 17 /PRNewswire/ -- Veteran CBS News correspondent and
 "60 Minutes" co-editor Morley Safer will host the 64th Annual George Foster
 Peabody Awards ceremony to be held Monday, May 16, at the Waldorf=Astoria in
 New York.  Safer, a winner of three Peabodys during his six decades on
 television, was praised by the Peabody Board as "a consummate professional
 whose contribution to the television industry is absolutely undeniable."
     (Logo: )
     The winners of the Peabody Awards for original broadcast, cablecast and
 webcast programs presented in 2004 will be announced April 7 in a ceremony
 taking place from 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. ET at the Museum of Television &
 Radio in New York.  This marks the return of the announcement to New York for
 the first time in five years.  Satellite coordinates for the broadcast feed
 are: Satellite: Galaxy 3C-KU Band Analog, Transponder 12, Downlink Frequency
 11930 (H).
     "When it aired exactly forty years ago, Morley's piece for 'CBS Evening
 News with Walter Cronkite' helped change the perception of the Vietnam War and
 has been a benchmark for generations of young reporters, including those
 currently embedded in Iraq and Afghanistan.  We are honored that he has agreed
 to host this year," noted Horace Newcomb, director of the Peabody Awards at
 the University of Georgia.
     The pivotal broadcast, which showed U.S. Marines burning the village of
 Cam Ne, was one of the realistic reports that helped change America's view of
 the war and changed war reporting forever. "As Morley celebrates his 35th
 anniversary with '60 Minutes,' we can look back at his incredible body of work
 and only hope that journalism continues his legacy of integrity and
 professionalism," added Newcomb.
     Safer's body of work, spanning six decades, was acknowledged with a
 Lifetime Achievement Emmy from the National Academy of Television Arts and
 Sciences and the 2003 George Polk Memorial Career Achievement Award from Long
 Island University.  He also recently received the Robert F. Kennedy Journalism
 awards' first prize for domestic television for his insightful report about a
 controversial school, "School for the Homeless" (February 2001). Safer's news-
 making reports and interviews have been honored with numerous other awards,
 including 12 Emmys, three Overseas Press Club Awards, three George Foster
 Peabody Awards, two Alfred I. DuPont-Columbia University Awards, a George Polk
 Memorial Award and the Paul White Award from the Radio/Television News
 Directors Association (RTNDA). In 1995, he was named a Chevalier dans l'Ordre
 des Arts et des Lettres by the French government.
     The Peabody Awards, considered among the most prestigious and selective
 prizes in electronic media, recognize excellence and meritorious work by radio
 and television stations, networks, webcasters, producing organizations and
     The 15-member Peabody Board is a distinguished panel of television
 critics, industry practitioners and experts in culture and the arts. The
 Peabody board, which includes television critics, industry practitioners,
 scholars and experts in culture and fine arts, recently announced the names of
 four new board members: Susan Douglas, professor and chair of the department
 of communication studies at the University of Michigan; Jonathan Estrin,
 executive vice president of the American Film Institute and a prize-winning
 television writer and producer; Raul Garza, senior vice president and director
 of diversity communication for Hill & Knowlton, Inc., a public relations firm
 in Los Angeles; and Frazier Moore, a 1974 journalism graduate of the
 University of Georgia, who has covered television for the Associated Press
 (AP) since 1992.
     The Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at UGA administers
 the Peabody Awards, as it has since the program's inception in 1940. For more
 information regarding the Peabody Awards program, the Peabody Awards
 Collection and the Peabody Center for Media and Society, visit

SOURCE Peabody Awards