Myriam Sarachik, Distinguished City College of New York Professor, Selected to Receive Prestigious International Women in Science Award

Mar 03, 2005, 00:00 ET from L'OREAL USA

    NEW YORK, March 3 /PRNewswire/ -- Dr. Myriam Sarachik, a distinguished
 condensed matter physicist, honored professor, and member of the academic
 staff of City College of the City University of New York, has been announced
 as this year's L'OREAL-UNESCO for Women in Science North American Laureate and
 will be honored in a special ceremony that takes place in Paris, France today,
 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005.  The award carries with it a cash-prize of $100,000
     (Logo: )
     The for Women in Science Award program, sponsored by L'OREAL, the world's
 leading cosmetics company, in partnership with the United Nations Educational,
 Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is given annually to established
 women scientists at the height of their careers. The program was created in
 1998 to elevate the role of women in the scientific community by highlighting
 and rewarding their contribution to science progress.  The program also
 supports the aspiration of promising young women scientist through fellowship
     Each year, for Women in Science lauds five women from different regions of
 the globe, selected by an international jury of their peers for their
 commitment to breakthrough science and awards 15 fellowships to young women at
 doctoral or post-doctoral level.
     "I am completely overwhelmed by this honor," says Dr. Sarachik. "It is
 especially meaningful because I am receiving the recognition from my peers. It
 is gratifying to know that a company like L'OREAL recognizes the value of
 rewarding women for their contributions to solving crucial scientific
 problems, and encourages women to follow scientific careers."
     A leader in the international physics community, Dr. Sarachik's career in
 experimental condensed matter physics has centered around the study of
 electrical conductivity and magnetic properties of various materials at very
 low temperatures.  Her work is valued both for its fundamental scientific
 merit and for its potential application in enhancing the technology that has
 revolutionized communications, computation and the way we gather and store
 information, bringing ever closer the realization of quantum computation or
 faster, smarter computers.
     In addition to being named for Women in Science's North American Laureate,
 this former president of the American Physical Society, one of only four women
 in the organization's 105 year history, will also receive the 2005 Oliver E.
 Buckley Prize in Condensed Matter Physics later in March.
     The for Women in Science award programme was originally set up to honor
 the life sciences. Now, awards are given in alternate years to scientists in
 the life and material/physical sciences. Appropriately, this year's ceremony
 honoring women in the physical/materials sciences coincides with UNESCO's
 proclamation of 2005 as the World Year of Physics -- a recognition of the
 important role physics plays in the development of science and technology and
 its tremendous impact on our society.
     Since the L'OREAL-UNESCO for Women in Science Awards began in 1998, 91
 women from 45 countries have been the recipients of these awards.
     Dr. Sarachik is one of five outstanding women scientists representing five
 different regions of the world. This year's other outstanding honorees are:
     Zohra BEN LAKHDAR-AKROUT - Laureate for Africa
     Professor of Physics, Faculty of Sciences, University of Tunis, Tunisia
     For her experiments and models on infrared spectroscopy and its
 applications to pollution detection and medicine.
     Fumiko  YONEZAWA - Laureate for Asia/Pacific
     Professor of Physics, University of Keio, Yokohama, Japan
     For her pioneering theory and computer simulations of semi-conductors and
 liquid metals.
     Dominique LANGEVIN - Laureate for Europe
     Directeur de Recherches CNRS, Laboratoire de Physiques des Solides,
 Universite Paris Sud, Orsay, France
     For her fundamental investigations of detergents, emulsions and foams.
     Belita KOILLER - Laureate for Latin America
     Professor of Physics, Department of Solid-State Physics, Federal
 University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
     For her innovative theoretical research on electrons in disordered
 materials such as glass.
     L'OREAL is the world's number one cosmetics company, present in 130
 countries worldwide. Almost 3000 people work in L'OREAL's fourteen research
 centers in France, Asia and America, which are responsible for the
 registration of over 500 patents annually. 55 % are women -- a percentage
 unmatched anywhere else in the industry (
     Since its creation in 1945, UNESCO has been dedicated to eliminating all
 forms of discrimination and promoting gender equality. While designing science
 education programmes specifically for girls, UNESCO has set up a series of
 academic chairs to linking women scientists around the world. The Organization
 is also developing new indicators to measure women's access to scientific
 training and to help develop appropriate policies in its 190 Member States