National Inventors Hall of Fame Welcomes 2007 Inductees

Inventors of Ethernet and the DNA sequencer among those recognized

May 03, 2007, 01:00 ET from National Inventors Hall of Fame, Inc.

    AKRON, Ohio, May 3 /PRNewswire/ -- On May 4 & 5, 2007, the National
 Inventors Hall of Fame welcomes its 35th class of inductees. Receiving the
 honor for 2007 are the inventors of technologies such as digital packet
 switching, which allows for greater flexibility in digital communications
 networks, and magnetic resonance imaging, or MRI.
     A posthumous recognition ceremony will be held on Friday, May 4th, to
 honor deceased inventors who gave the world a wide array of inventions,
 from Frank Zamboni's ice resurfacing machine to Maurice Hilleman's
 lifesaving vaccines. Many of these historical inventors have not received
 recognition in the past despite the impact they had on society during their
     On Saturday, May 5th, seven additional inventors will be honored. The
 Saturday evening ceremony traditionally focuses on the living inventors,
 but this year will also include MRI inventor Paul Lauterbur, who passed
 away on March 27, 2007, and who will be represented by his son Dan and
 daughter Elise. The inductees and their inventions include:
     -- Paul Baran, Digital packet switching
     -- Emmett Chappelle, Bioluminescence techniques
     -- John Franz, Glyphosate-based herbicide
     -- Leroy Hood, DNA sequencer
     -- Paul Lauterbur, MRI (deceased)
     -- Peter Mansfield, MRI
     -- Robert Metcalfe, Ethernet
     The complete list of inventors receiving recognition over the Induction
 weekend can be found at the Hall of Fame's website,
     To honor the 2007 inductees, many past inductees will be present for
 the weekend's events. These include inventors such as Forrest Bird,
 inventor of the respirator; Patsy Sherman, inventor of Scotchgard(TM)
 textile protector, and Don Keck, inventor of optical fiber, in addition to
 many more.
     Inventors may be nominated by anyone for induction into the Hall of
 Fame, but they must hold a U.S. patent to be considered. The nominee's
 invention must have contributed to the welfare of society and have promoted
 the progress of science and the useful arts. The Selection Committee,
 comprised of representatives from national science and technology
 organizations, reviews all nominations.
     The not-for-profit National Inventors Hall of Fame is the premier
 organization in America dedicated to honoring and fostering creativity and
 invention. Each year a new class of inventors is inducted into the Hall of
 Fame in recognition of their patented inventions that make human, social,
 and economic progress possible. Founded in 1973 by the U.S. Patent and
 Trademark Office and the National Council of Intellectual Property Law
 Association, the Hall's permanent home is Akron, Ohio, where the inventors
 in the Hall are honored and from where it administers its national
 programs, including Camp Invention(R), Club Invention(R), and the
 Collegiate Inventors Competition(R).

SOURCE National Inventors Hall of Fame, Inc.