National Inventors Hall of Fame will Honor Group of Historical Inventors

Innovators of the past receive due recognition

Apr 03, 2007, 01:00 ET from The National Inventors Hall of Fame

    AKRON, Ohio, April 3 /PRNewswire/ -- The National Inventors Hall of
 Fame announced today it will honor a group of historically significant
 inventors through induction.
     Each year, the Hall makes a February announcement of inductees for the
 upcoming year. This year, for the second time, the Hall is announcing an
 additional group of historical inventors who will be recognized during the
 annual induction ceremony. The Hall's goal is to present a more complete
 and accurate historical view of innovation in the United States with the
 additional inductees.
     Some of the inventors or their inventions are more readily identifiable
 to the general public, such as Frank Zamboni and his ice resurfacing
 machine, Richard Drew and masking and cellophane tape, and John Holland and
 the submarine. Other inventors, such as James Bogardus and his iron
 building frame and Thomas Seavy Hall and his railroad signal, may not be as
 well known. All the inventors, however, had significant influence on
 society and the economy as their work became popular during their own
     The inventors and their inventions are:
     Samuel Allen (1841-1918), Flexible flyer sled
     Alpheus Babcock  (1785-1842), Cast-iron piano frame
     Laszlo Biro (1899-1985), Ball point pen
     Eli Whitney Blake (1795-1886), Machine for crushing stone
     Katharine Blodgett (1896-1979), Langmuir-Blodgett Films
     James Bogardus (1800-1874), Iron building frame
     Charles Brannock (1903-1992), Foot measuring device
     John Browning (1855-1926), Breech-loading rifle
     Georges Claude (1870-1960), Neon tubing
     Joshua Lionel Cowen (1877-1965), Toy train system
     George Crompton (1829-1886), Looms
     Richard Drew (1899-1980), Adhesive tape
     Philip Drinker (1894-1972), Iron lung
     Alfred Einhorn (1856-1917), Novocain
     Ole Evinrude (1877-1934), Outboard motor
     King Gillette (1855-1932), Safety razor
     Elisha Gray (1835-1901), Telephone and telegraph improvements
     Thomas Seavy Hall (1827-1880), Railroad signal
     John Holland (1840-1914), Submarine
     Frederick McKinley Jones (1893-1961), Refrigeration unit
     Albert Kingsbury (1863-1943), Thrust bearing
     Lorenzo Langstroth (1810-1895), Bee hive
     Oliver Lodge (1851-1940), Wireless telegraphy
     Auguste-Marie Lumiere (1862-1954), Cinematographe
     Louis Lumiere (1864-1948), Cinematographe
     Wilhelm Maybach (1846-1929), Carburetor, radiator
     Alexander Miles, Elevator doors
     Michael J. Owens (1839-1923), Automatic bottle-making machine
     Thomas Pickering (1831-1895), Velocipede
     Louis Renault (1877-1944), Drum brake
     Jesse Reno (1861-1947), Escalator
     John Rogers (1856-1934), Automatic typesetting
     Charles Seeberger (1857-1931), Escalator
     William Sellers (1824-1905), Improvement in machine tools
     Frederick Sickels (1819-1895), Valve for steam engines
     Samuel Slater (1768-1835), Cotton mills
     Eli Terry (1772-1852), Automated clockmaking
     Louis Tiffany (1848-1933), Stained glass
     Theophilus Van Kannel (1841-1919), Revolving door
     Squire Whipple (1804-1888), Iron truss bridge
     Frank Zamboni (1901-1988), Ice resurfacing machine
     The group of 41 deceased inventors will be recognized as inductees in
 the Hall of Fame at a ceremony taking place on May 4, 2007 that will focus
 on posthumous recognition. Also to be recognized at that ceremony are the
 deceased inventors whose names were originally announced in February. On
 May 5, 2007, this year's living inductees will be honored.
     The not-for-profit National Inventors Hall of Fame Foundation is the
 premier organization in America dedicated to honoring and fostering
 creativity and invention. Each year a new class of inventors is inducted
 into the Hall of Fame in recognition of their patented inventions that make
 human, social, and economic progress possible. Founded in 1973 by the U.S.
 Patent and Trademark Office and the National Council of Intellectual
 Property Law Association, the Hall's permanent home is Akron, Ohio, where
 the inventors in the Hall are honored and from where it administers its
 national programs, including Camp Invention(R), Club Invention(R), and the
 Collegiate Inventors Competition(R). For more information, visit

SOURCE The National Inventors Hall of Fame