Paul Berg to Receive 2005 Biotechnology Heritage Award

Chemical Heritage Foundation and Biotechnology Industry Organization Will

Present the Award in June at BIO 2005 in Philadelphia

Apr 13, 2005, 01:00 ET from Chemical Heritage Foundation

    PHILADELPHIA, April 13 /PRNewswire/ -- The Chemical Heritage Foundation
 (CHF) and the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) will present the 7th
 Annual Biotechnology Heritage Award to Paul Berg, Nobel laureate, innovator,
 and biotechnology pioneer.  The presentation will be made at the Board of
 Directors dinner at BIO 2005 in Philadelphia.
     "Paul Berg's scientific creativity underlies our knowledge of the genetics
 of all living things, and our ability to understand the functioning of cells
 from any species. His work was instrumental in setting the stage for today's
 and tomorrow's exciting advances in biotechnology," said Arnold Thackray,
 president of CHF.
     "Dr. Berg's pioneering work in molecular biology helped create the
 biotechnology industry.  But he also helped lay the ethical foundation for our
 industry as well, by leading thoughtful discussions about how to safely and
 appropriately use recombinant DNA technology.  Our industry owes much to Dr.
 Berg, and BIO is pleased to join CHF in honoring him," said Jim Greenwood,
 president of BIO.
     About Paul Berg
     Paul Berg is Cahill Professor in Cancer Research, Emeritus at Stanford
 University School of Medicine and Director Emeritus of the Beckman Center for
 Molecular and Genetic Medicine.  A Nobel laureate, he is one of the principal
 pioneers in "gene splicing."  Berg, along with his colleagues Walter Gilbert
 and Frederick Sanger, was honored with the 1980 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for
 developing methods that make it possible to map the structure and function of
     His work on the genetic apparatus that directs the synthesis of proteins
 earned Berg the Eli Lilly Award in Biochemistry in 1959 and the California
 Scientist of the Year Award in 1963.  He has twice been honored with the Henry
 J. Kaiser Award for Excellence in Teaching at Stanford University School of
 Medicine and has won the Roche Institute for Molecular Biology V.D. Mattia
 Prize, the Sarasota Medical Awards for Achievement and Excellence, the Annual
 Award of the Gairdner Foundation, the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research
 Award, and the New York Academy of Sciences Award.  He also has won the
 American Association for the Advancement of Science Scientific Freedom and
 Responsibility Award, the National Medal of Science, and the National Library
 of Medicine Medal.
     A member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of
 Arts and Sciences since 1966, he also is a past president of the American
 Society of Biological Chemists, a foreign Fellow of the French Academy of
 Sciences and the Royal Society in London, an elected member of the American
 Philosophical Society, Honorary Member of Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical
 Society, and a member of the American Academy of Achievement.  He is a former
 Chairman of the National Advisory Committee of the Human Genome Project.
     Berg joined the faculty of the Stanford University School of Medicine in
 1959 and was Chairman of the Department of Biochemistry from 1969 to 1974.
 Named Willson Professor of Biochemistry in 1970 and Cahill Professor in Cancer
 Research in 1994, he was director of the Beckman Center for Molecular and
 Genetic Medicine from 1985 through 2000.
     About the Biotechnology Heritage Award
     The Biotechnology Heritage Award is presented yearly at a special ceremony
 during the BIO Annual International Convention to honor individuals who have
 contributed significantly to the growth of biotechnology through discovery,
 innovation, commercialization, and/or public understanding. In honoring these
 individuals, the Chemical Heritage Foundation and the Biotechnology Industry
 Organization seek to encourage emulation, inspire achievement, and promote
 public understanding of modern science, industry, and economics in this rapid-
 growth area.
     The award complements the mission of both organizations by advancing their
 mutual goals of educating the public, nourishing a sense of pride and
 community within the industry, and developing the record of the remarkable
 contributions the molecular sciences make to our lives. Previous award winners
      -- Leroy Hood (2004)
      -- William J. Rutter (2003)
      -- Walter Gilbert and Phillip A. Sharp (2002)
      -- Francis S. Collins and J. Craig Venter (2001)
      -- Herbert W. Boyer and Robert A. Swanson (2000)
      -- George B. Rathmann (1999)
     About the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO)
     BIO represents more than 1,000 biotechnology companies, academic
 institutions, state biotechnology centers, and related organizations in all 50
 U.S. states and 33 other nations. BIO members are involved in the research and
 development of healthcare, agricultural, industrial, and environmental
 biotechnology products. For more information, visit
     About the Chemical Heritage Foundation
     The Chemical Heritage Foundation serves the community of the chemical and
 molecular sciences, and the wider public, by treasuring the past, educating
 the present, and inspiring the future. CHF carries out a program of outreach
 and interpretation in order to advance an understanding of the role of the
 chemical and molecular sciences, technologies, and industries in shaping
 society; maintains a world-class collection of materials that document the
 history and heritage of the chemical and molecular sciences, technologies, and
 industries; and encourages research in its collections.
     CHF regularly hosts lectures and meetings on biotechnology through its
 Joseph Priestley Society and actively seeks to honor, preserve, and encourage
 this most vital and exciting field. Many of biotechnology's leaders have been
 both entrepreneurs and researchers, uniquely enabling them to bring their
 scientific achievements to the global market quickly. CHF is proud to help
 honor and preserve this important area of human endeavor with the
 Biotechnology Heritage Award. For more information, visit
     CONTACT:  Neil Gussman of the Chemical Heritage Foundation,

SOURCE Chemical Heritage Foundation