Peabody Awards Announce New Board Members

Dec 03, 2004, 00:00 ET from Peabody Awards

    ATHENS, Ga., Dec. 3 /PRNewswire/ -- The University of Georgia's Grady
 College of Journalism and Mass Communication announces the appointment of four
 new board members to the Peabody Awards, television and radio's most coveted
     The Peabody board, which includes television critics, industry
 practitioners, scholars and experts in culture and fine arts, will be joined
 by Susan Douglas, University of Michigan; Jonathan Estrin, American Film
 Institute; Raul Garza, Hill & Knowlton, Inc. public relations firm and Frazier
 Moore, Associated Press.
     "Our new board members bring a wealth of experience to the Peabody Awards
 programs," said Peabody Awards Director Horace Newcomb.  "Their perspectives
 will add to our discussions as we continue to recognize the most distinguished
 examples of electronic media produced around the world."
     Douglas is a professor and chair of the Department of Communication
 Studies at the University of Michigan.  She is the author of numerous books
 including "Where the Girls Are: Growing Up Female with the Mass Media,"
 "Inventing American Broadcasting," and "Listening In: Radio and the American
 Imagination," which won the 2000 Sally Hacker Popular Book Prize from the
 Society for the History of Technology.  Her most recent book, "The Mommy Myth"
 (with Meredith Michaels), explores the changing representations of motherhood
 in the mass media from 1970 to present.
     Estrin is executive vice president of the American Film Institute and a
 prize-winning television writer and producer.  Estrin served from 2000-2004 as
 dean of the College of Media Arts & Design at Drexel University.  In more than
 25 years in Hollywood, Estrin created and produced series, movies and mini-
 series for broadcast and cable networks.  In 1997, with his late wife, Shelley
 List, he received the Valentine Davies Award from the Writers Guild of
 America, which "honors those who have contributed to the entertainment
 industry and the community-at-large and who have brought dignity and honor to
 writers everywhere."
     Garza is senior vice president and director of diversity communication for
 Hill & Knowlton, Inc. public relations firm in Los Angeles.  Previously as
 director of multicultural public relations for AT&T in New York and New
 Jersey, Garza produced the first consumer education series on
 telecommunication for Spanish-language television and introduced a weekly
 program on U.S. citizenship to Spanish-language radio.
     Moore, a 1974 Journalism graduate of the University of Georgia, has
 covered television for the Associated Press (AP) since 1992.  Moore reviews
 television programs, profiles stars as well as figures behind the scenes, and
 analyzes the TV medium.  Before joining AP, Moore freelanced for publications
 including "People," "Spy," "Connoisseur" and "Interview" magazines, as well as
 for "The New York Times."  Moore was a staff writer for "The Atlanta Journal-
 Constitution" and "The Fort Myers News-Press," where he earned a National
 Headliners Award in column writing.  In addition, Moore was director of
 publications for the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra.
     Entries for the 64th annual George Foster Peabody Awards, recognizing
 outstanding achievement in electronic media, are due to the Peabody Awards
 office on Friday, Jan. 14, 2005.  Original broadcast, cablecast and webcast
 programs presented in 2004 are eligible for entry.  The awards will be
 presented during a May 16 luncheon at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York.
     The Peabody Award, established in 1940 and administered by UGA's Grady
 College of Journalism and Mass Communication, is the oldest honor in
 electronic media.  Today the Peabody recognizes distinguished achievement and
 meritorious public service by stations, networks, producing organizations and
     For entry information or for a complete list of all Peabody Board members,

SOURCE Peabody Awards