Philadelphia NBC 10 and Weather Channel Meteorologists Honored by American Meteorological Society

Jan 07, 2005, 00:00 ET from NBC 10

    BALA CYNWYD, Pa., Jan. 7 /PRNewswire/ -- Jon Nese, storm analyst at The
 Weather Channel, and Glenn Schwartz, chief meteorologist at NBC 10 in
 Philadelphia, have won the 2005 Louis J. Battan Author's Award by the American
 Meteorological Society, the nation's leading professional society for those
 working in the atmospheric and related sciences.
     Nese and Schwartz are being honored for The Philadelphia Area Weather
 Book, "an exemplary regionally-focused account of historical weather events
 and the contributions of local scientists and broadcasters to the discipline
 of atmospheric science."  The award is named for Louis J. Battan, who
 contributed outstanding research efforts in radar meteorology and wrote
 several books aimed at nonscientists.
     Nese, a graduate of The Pennsylvania State University, joined The Weather
 Channel in 2002 as an on-air analyst.  He also produces educational and
 informational series for the only dedicated cable weather network.  A native
 of Steubenville, Ohio, Nese began his career in meteorology as an assistant
 and associate professor at Penn State before joining WTOV-TV in Steubenville
 as a broadcast meteorologist.  Most recently he was the chief meteorologist at
 the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia, responsible for exhibit design and
 program development.  Nese has written several books including a meteorology
 textbook. He has also appeared in numerous educational weather videos.  His
 work has earned numerous teaching awards and recognitions.
     Schwartz was named NBC 10's chief meteorologist in November 2002, and
 first joined the station in 1995.  Prior to that he worked as a meteorologist
 for WPBF-TV in West Palm Beach, Fla., WINK-TV in Fort Myers, Fla., and WRAL-TV
 in Raleigh, N.C.  As a hurricane specialist for The Weather Channel from 1985-
 86, he produced documentaries for the network and National Science Foundation.
 Born and raised in Philadelphia, Schwartz began his television career in
 meteorology at WAGA-TV in Atlanta.  He earned his B.S. degree in meteorology
 at Penn State.
     The award will be presented on January 12th at the 85th Annual AMS Meeting
 in San Diego.
     The AMS, founded in 1919, is a scientific and professional organization
 that promotes the development and dissemination of information on atmospheric,
 oceanic, and hydrologic sciences.  The Society publishes nine well-respected
 scientific journals, sponsors scientific conferences, and supports public
 education programs across the country.  Additional information on the AMS, the
 Annual Meeting, and other award winners is available on the Internet at