Poison Announces New Studio Album, POISON'D!, to Be Released June 5 by EMI America Records/Capitol

13-Track Album Features Hot New Recordings of Poison's Favorite Rock

Classics, Including Hits Originally Recorded by David Bowie, The Rolling

Stones, The Cars, Sweet, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers and More!

Poison's North American Summer Tour Begins June 12

Apr 03, 2007, 01:00 ET from EMI America Records/Capitol

    HOLLYWOOD, Calif., April 3 /PRNewswire/ -- Poison, one of rock's most
 iconic and enduring bands, has recorded a new album of cover songs,
 featuring many of their favorite rock classics. POISON'D, the band's first
 new studio album since 2002, will be released June 5 on CD and digitally by
 EMI America Records/Capitol.
     (Photo: http://www.newscom.com/cgi-bin/prnh/20070403/LATU050)
     Featuring Poison's original members, Bret Michaels (vocals), C.C.
 DeVille (guitar), Rikki Rockett (drums) and Bobby Dall (bass), POISON'D
 presents the band's first new studio recordings since 2002's Hollyweird.
 Produced by Don Was at Hensen Recording Studios in Hollywood, POISON'D
 packs 13 explosive tracks, including new recordings of David Bowie's
 "Suffragette City," The Cars' "You're Just What I Needed," The Romantics'
 "What I Like About You," Sweet's "Little Willy," The Marshall Tucker Band's
 "Can't You See" and The Rolling Stones' "Dead Flowers." Some of Poison's
 best previously recorded covers are also featured on POISON'D, including
 KISS' "Rock and Roll All Nite," Grand Funk Railroad's "We're An American
 Band" and Loggins and Messina's "Your Mama Don't Dance."
     "Poison is one of the greatest rock 'n roll bands in the world and,
 after 20 years, they can slam better than ever," says POISON'D producer Don
 Was. "They're powerful musicians and very cool guys. We had a lot of fun
 making this album and I think you can hear it in the grooves -- it's got
 the jive and is truly alive! I urge everyone to listen to it!"
     Following the release of POISON'D, Poison will hit the road again on
 June 12 for a major North American summer concert tour. Tour dates and
 details will be announced and posted to the band's official website as they
 are confirmed. Visit www.poisonweb.com and www.myspace.com/poison for the
 latest Poison news and links to other Poison-related websites.
     In July, VH1 will premiere a new reality show, "Rock of Love with Bret
 Michaels." VH1's description of the show has "the hard-rockin' Poison front
 man looking for a woman who can truly keep up with his rock-n-roll
 lifestyle and not become jealous of his one true passion -- performing,
 which has been the reason for and destruction of most of his
     In 1986, Poison released their debut album, Look What the Cat Dragged
 In. After years of hard work, touring and controversy, radio and MTV
 finally took notice of the band and their music, propelling Poison into
 superstardom. Look What the Cat Dragged In peaked at #3 on the Billboard
 album charts, charted three singles and sold more than four million copies.
     The band's 1988 follow-up, Open Up and Say ... Ahh! went Platinum two
 weeks after its release. The single "Every Rose Has Its Thorn" hit #1 on
 Billboard's Singles chart and the album sold more than seven million units.
 1990's Flesh & Blood featured a second Gold single, "Unskinny Bop," and the
 album went multi-Platinum.
     In 1991, amidst inner fighting, alcohol, drug abuse and road stories
 that would make a porn star blush, guitarist C.C. Deville and singer Bret
 Michaels collided in an all out fist-fight seconds after leaving the stage
 of the MTV Music Video Awards (right between Cindy Crawford's high heels
 and Eddie Van Halen's sneakers). C.C. Deville left the band.
     Poison continued to tour arenas and amphitheatres and recorded the
 Platinum Native Tongue and Crack A Smile. After five years of not speaking,
 Michaels and Deville met up in 1999 and, with their chemistry and
 friendship quickly rekindled, the band went into the studio to record Power
 To The People. One of the most successful reunion tours of all time
 followed the album's release.
     Last April, Poison rocketed into the Billboard Top 20 with the #17
 debut of the band's 20th anniversary hits collection, The Best Of Poison:
 20 Years Of Rock (Capitol/EMI). The 18-track hits collection was soon
 certified gold, and Poison tore through the summer of 2006 on their highly
 successful "20 Years of Rock" North American concert tour.
     To date, Poison has sold more than 25 million records and DVDs worldwide.
     POISON'D (CD and Digital Album)
     1.  Little Willy                    (originally performed by Sweet)
     2.  Suffragette City                (originally performed by David Bowie)
     3.  I Never Cry                     (originally performed by Alice Cooper)
     4.  I Need to Know                  (originally performed by Tom Petty &
                                           The Heartbreakers)
     5.  Can't You See                   (originally performed by The Marshall
                                           Tucker Band)
     6.  What I Like About You           (originally performed by The
     7.  Dead Flowers                    (originally performed by The Rolling
     8.  Just What I Needed              (originally performed by The Cars)
     9.  Rock and Roll All Nite          (originally performed by Kiss)
     10. Squeeze Box                     (originally performed by The Who)
     11. Your Mama Don't Dance           (originally performed by Loggins &
     12. You Don't Mess Around With Jim  (originally performed by Jim Croce)
     13. We're An American Band          (originally performed by Grand Funk
     TRACKS 1-8: produced by Don Was - 2007 (new recordings)
     TRACK 9: produced by Rick Rubin, Less Than Zero soundtrack - 1987
     TRACK 10: produced by Thom Panunzio, Hollyweird - 2002
     TRACK 11: produced by Tom Werman, Open Up and Say ... Ahh! - 1988
     TRACK 12: produced by Ric Browdie - 1987; bonus track on Look What The Cat
                Dragged In reissue (2006)
     TRACK 13: produced by Don Was, The Best Of Poison: 20 Years Of Rock - 2006

SOURCE EMI America Records/Capitol