Prairie Island Indian Community Elects New Tribal Council

Nov 12, 2001, 00:00 ET from Prairie Island Indian Community

    PRAIRIE ISLAND, Minn., Nov. 12 /PRNewswire/ -- The Prairie Island Indian
 Community has elected a new Tribal Council that includes two current council
 members, two previous council members and a newcomer. The Tribal Council is
 the governing body of the more than 500-member Prairie Island Indian
     President Audrey Kohnen and Treasurer Darrell Campbell were reelected to a
 third-consecutive two-year term, along with former council members Alan
 Childs, Sr. and Darelynn Lehto. Childs and Lehto each served two terms on the
 Council in the mid-1990s.  Mason Pacini was elected to his first term in
     All five current council members were among the 19 tribal members running
 in this year's election. Tribal Council's Vice President Noah White, Secretary
 Lu Taylor and Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Doreen Hagen were not reelected.
 The new Tribal Council will be sworn in and select officers on Dec. 12.
     "This is an experienced Council that will serve our community very well,"
 said Kohnen. "We have some challenges and opportunities in front of us,
 including increased nuclear waste storage, expansion of state-sponsored
 gambling, and the growth and diversification of our community and economy.
 The new council members all have experience dealing with these tough issues
 and a strong desire to do what is right for our community."
     The election was held Nov. 9. Voter turnout among the 299 eligible voters
 was strong. Each eligible voter can vote for up to five candidates.
     The Prairie Island Indian Community is a federally recognized Indian
 Nation, located 50 minutes southeast of the Twin Cities along the Mississippi
 River.  The Community owns and operates Treasure Island Resort & Casino.
                                 Final Results
                Tribal Council Candidates      Votes
                Alan Childs, Sr.                136
                Darrell Campbell                104
                Mason Pacini                    103
                Darelynn Lehto                  101
                Audrey Kohnen                   100
                      MAKE YOUR OPINION COUNT - Click Here

SOURCE Prairie Island Indian Community