Rawlings Announces 50th Edition Rawlings Gold Glove(R) National League(R) Winners

Pujols, Beltran win first awards; Maddux ties Kaat

Nov 03, 2006, 00:00 ET from Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc.

    ST. LOUIS, Nov. 3 /PRNewswire/ -- Rawlings Sporting Goods Company,
 Inc., today revealed the 50th edition of the Rawlings Gold Glove National
 League(R) team, as part of the launch of the golden anniversary celebration
 of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award(R).
     St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols, the 2005 National
 League Most Valuable Player, has openly contended that he would not
 consider himself a complete player without a Rawlings Gold Glove Award.
 Pujols today is complete, winning his first Rawlings Gold Glove.
     On the other end of the spectrum, Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher and
 four-time Cy Young winner Greg Maddux claimed his 16th Rawlings Gold Glove
 Award, tying Jim Kaat for the most Rawlings Gold Gloves won by a pitcher or
 any other fielder.
     Rawlings, the Official Baseball Supplier to Major League Baseball(R)
 and the No. 1 brand in baseball gloves, established the Rawlings Gold Glove
 Award in 1957 as the greatest measure of fielding excellence. The award is
 presented annually to 18 players -- one for each position -- in the
 American and National Leagues, selected by Major League coaches and
 managers prior to the conclusion of the regular season. Managers and
 coaches may not vote for players from their own club and only vote for
 players in their own league.
     Pujols, who just helped the Cardinals to their first World Series
 championship in 24 years, is joined by teammate and third baseman Scott
 Rolen, who won his seventh Rawlings Gold Glove Award. San Francisco Giants
 shortstop Omar Vizquel won his 11th Rawlings Gold Glove, two shy of
 position leader and Hall of Famer Ozzie Smith. New York Mets outfielder
 Carlos Beltran snagged his first Rawlings Gold Glove.
      The complete National League lineup:
      Greg Maddux (16)        Los Angeles Dodgers(TM)   P
      Brad Ausmus (3)         Houston Astros(TM)        C
      Albert Pujols (1)       St. Louis Cardinals(TM)   1B
      Orlando Hudson (2)      Arizona Diamondbacks(TM)  2B
      Scott Rolen (7)         St. Louis Cardinals(TM)   3B
      Omar Vizquel (11)       San Francisco Giants(TM)  SS
      Andruw Jones (9)        Atlanta Braves(TM)        OF
      Carlos Beltran (1)      New York Mets(TM)         OF
      Mike Cameron (3)        San Diego Padres(TM)      OF
      The American League winners were revealed Thursday:
      Kenny Rogers (5)        Detroit Tigers(TM)        P
      Ivan Rodriguez (12)     Detroit Tigers(TM)        C
      Mark Teixeira (2)       Texas Rangers(TM)         1B
      Mark Grudzielanek (1)   Kansas City Royals(TM)    2B
      Eric Chavez (6)         Oakland Athletics(TM)     3B
      Derek Jeter (3)         New York Yankees(TM)      SS
      Ichiro Suzuki (6)       Seattle Mariners(TM)      OF
      Torii Hunter (6)        Minnesota Twins(TM)       OF
      Vernon Wells (3)        Toronto Blue Jays(TM)     OF
     The 2006 teams kick off a year-long celebration of the Rawlings Gold
 Glove Award(R) during which Rawlings will challenge America to select the
 all-time Rawlings Gold Glove Golden Anniversary team: the greatest fielder
 at each position.
     A panel of Major League Baseball historians and experts -- including
 those who played the game, managed the game, governed the game, and
 reported on the game -- will set the initial ballot of 50 players.
 Beginning in spring training 2007, fans will vote through mobile devices,
 at retail, and online, including http://www.rawlingsgoldglove.com . The
 all-time Rawlings Gold Glove Golden Anniversary Team will be revealed
     As part of the celebration, Rawlings also plans to honor the original
 1957 Rawlings Gold Glove team: Bobby Shantz (P), Sherm Lollar (C), Gil
 Hodges (1B), Nellie Fox (2B), Roy McMillan (SS), Frank Malzone (3B), Minnie
 Minoso (OF), Al Kaline (OF), Willie Mays (OF).
     About the Rawlings Gold Glove Award(R)
     The Rawlings Gold Glove Award(R) is a Registered Service Mark owned by
 Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. The award is correctly identified as
 the Rawlings Gold Glove Award. The name should not be shortened,
 abbreviated or otherwise misused. Proper identification of this service
 mark using the registration symbol and the Rawlings name is important to
 protect the integrity of the program and perpetuate this worthy tradition.
     About Rawlings
     Rawlings is a leading marketer and manufacturer of baseball equipment
 and other sporting goods in the United States. Rawlings is the Official
 Baseball and Helmet of Major League Baseball(R) and official ball of the
 NCAA(R) baseball championships. Rawlings is also the official basketball
 for the NAIA(R), NJCAA(R), AAU(R) and many other organizations as well as
 official football of the NAIA(R). Rawlings is the official basketball,
 football, baseball, softball, volleyball and soccer ball of the National
 High School Federation(R). For more information, please visit
 http://www.rawlings.com .

SOURCE Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc.