Rockefeller Foundation Invites Public Nominations for the Jane Jacobs Medal

Deadline is February 4, 2008

Jan 31, 2008, 00:00 ET from The Rockefeller Foundation

    NEW YORK, Jan. 31 /PRNewswire/ -- The Rockefeller Foundation is
 accepting nominations for the 2008 Jane Jacobs Medal on its website through
 Monday, February 4, 2008. The 2008 Rockefeller Foundation Jane Jacobs
 Medals will recognize two living individuals whose creative vision for the
 urban environment has significantly contributed to the vibrancy and variety
 of New York City.
     The Jane Jacobs Medal was created by the Rockefeller Foundation in 2007
 to honor activist and author Jane Jacobs, who died in April 2006 at the age
 of 89. The Foundation's relationship with Jane Jacobs dates back to the
 1950s, when it funded Jane Jacobs for the research and writing of her
 classic book, The Death and Life of Great American Cities.
     "There is a growing concern among New Yorkers about the development of
 their city," said Darren Walker, Vice President of the Rockefeller
 Foundation. "Jane Jacobs' principles, such as promoting diversity and
 respect for neighborhood knowledge, are as important today as they were at
 the height of Jane Jacobs' activism 50 years ago. The Rockefeller
 Foundation is pleased to underwrite the Jane Jacobs Medal as a means of
 celebrating and encouraging continued civic action in our great city
     The 2008 Rockefeller Foundation Jane Jacobs Medal will be accompanied
 by prizes totaling $200,000. The selection of the Jane Jacobs Medal winners
 and allocation of the prize money will be determined by the members of the
 Jane Jacobs Medal Selection Jury. The Jury is co-chaired by George Campbell
 Jr., president of The Cooper Union, and arts patron and philanthropist
 Agnes Gund, and includes Rockefeller Foundation trustee David Rockefeller,
 Jr. The Medal is administered by the Municipal Art Society of New York
     The 2008 Rockefeller Foundation Jane Jacobs Medal winners will be
 announced in May of this year. The Medals will be awarded to the recipients
 at a dinner in September 2008.
     More information on the 2008 Jane Jacobs Medal is available on the
 Rockefeller Foundation website at

SOURCE The Rockefeller Foundation