Roger Ebert, Bonnie Hammer, Alan and Susan Raymond Honored 46th Annual CINE Awards Bring Film and Video Leaders to D.C.

    WASHINGTON, April 19 /PRNewswire/ -- Film and Video awards are not just
 presented in Hollywood, and this was made evident at the 46th Annual CINE
 Golden Eagle Film and Video Awards Gala as Washington, D.C. took its turn at
 acknowledging some of the best and brightest in the film, video and media arts
 industry.  Honorary award winners included Pulitzer Prize-winning film critic
 Roger Ebert, Academy Award-winning filmmakers Alan and Susan Raymond, USA
 Network and SCI FI Channel President Bonnie Hammer, and the cutting-edge
 technology of Lasergraphics, Inc.
     (Photo: )
     CINE is nationally and internationally recognized for its prestigious and
 highly acclaimed film and video peer-review competitions, with this year's
 culminating April 14 at the Grosvenor Auditorium of the National Geographic
 Society. Award presenters included Washington Post film critic Tom Shales,
 actor, director, and producer Edward James Olmos, and multiple CINE Golden
 Eagle winner and veteran NBC News Correspondent, Bob Dotson. Masters of
 Ceremonies for the gala were Lisa Ling, host of National Geographic's
 Explorer, and Robert Aubry Davis, noted cultural commentator and host of the
 award-winning WETA-TV series Around Town.
     Ebert, film critic for the Chicago Sun-Times, took home the CINE Lifetime
 Achievement Award handed him by Mr. Shales. Mr. Ebert is also Co-host, Ebert &
 Roeper, and author of "The Great Movies II" and "Roger Ebert's Movie Yearbook
 2005." (
     The CINE Trailblazers Award went to Alan and Susan Raymond, 11-time Emmy
 winners whose collection of films have been honored with Peabody and DuPont
 awards as well as the 1994 Academy Award (R) for Best Feature Documentary "I
 Am A Promise:  The Children of Stanton Elementary School."  They continue to
 specialize in feature length documentaries that have included topics such as
 education and prisoner's rights.
     Bonnie Hammer, President, USA Network and SCI FI Channel, and widely
 acknowledged as an industry leader in network programming and branding,
 received the CINE Leadership Award. Hammer has been named by Hollywood
 Reporter as one of the "Top 100 Women in Entertainment" for four years
 running. At USA, Hammer has overseen the 2004 launch of "The 4400," the
 highest-rated and most-watched series in cable history, as well as "Kojak," an
 update of the TV classic starring Ving Rhames.
     "This year's winners epitomize excellence in their respective fields and
 CINE is gratified to be able to include them in the exclusive Golden Eagle
 Award winners circle," said CINE President Carole L. Feld, Principal of the
 Giving Tree Group.
     This was the first year for the new CINE-Siemens Excellence in Technology
 Innovation Award. "We congratulate Lasergraphics as this year's award winner
 and applaud the dedication and commitment of all contributors," noted Ed
 McDermid, vice president, N.A. Business Development, Media & Entertainment for
 Siemens Business Services.
     CINE Seminars were held earlier today at the Sumner School on: "Reality,
 Fiction, and Everything In-Between," with panelists Roger Ebert, Alan and
 Susan Raymond, and Dalton Delan; a demonstration by Lasergraphics Inc., and
 CINE's traditional "5 on 5 for 5" Pitch Session, when filmmakers presented
 their projects to industry leaders. The winner receives an honorarium and the
 opportunity to pitch the project within Discovery.
     "The CINE awards event could not have been made possible without the
 support of our generous sponsors," noted David L. Weiss, Executive Director of
 CINE.  Sponsors of the 2005 CINE Golden Eagle Awards event include National
 Geographic Television & Film, Henninger Media Services, Eastman Kodak, Clear
 Channel Entertainment and Television, and Siemens Business Services Media.
     The CINE Golden Eagle Awards Event honored the winners of the 2004 CINE
 Golden Eagle Award competitions for outstanding films and videos in 22
 categories, chosen by peer juries from over 1,000 entries worldwide.  Special
 Jury Awards were given to the best of the CINE Golden Eagle Award winners in
 each of these categories, and the best of these winners received the coveted
 CINE Masters Series Award for professional films, and the CINE Award of
 Excellence for the best student film.  2005 Major winners are: Professional
 Telecast Non-fiction: NOVA "World in the Balance" NOVA/WGBH, Linda Harrar
 Productions; Professional Telecast News: P.O.V. - Discovering Dominga,
 P.O.V./American Documentary, Inc.; Professional Non-telecast: Medical Missions
 for Children, Producer: Sylvio Sharif Tabet; Directors: Sylvio Sharif Tabet,
 Matthew Buzzell; CINE Award of Excellence: Savior Morning Moon Films,
 Director/Producer/Writer: Erla Skuladottir, Cinematographer: Brian Hubbard.
     For a complete list of winners including the 2005 CINE Special Jury Awards
 and for more information about CINE, the awards competition, or the awards
 event, visit the website at or call 202-785-1136.
     Contact:  David L. Weiss
               Mildred A. Cooper (media)


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.


PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.