2014

Scholastic to Launch "Worlds Collide" Initiative Bringing Together Authors and Fans of Bestselling Multi-Platform Series The 39 Clues®, Infinity Ring®, and Spirit Animals™ Integrated Campaign to Include "Worlds Collide #1s Live Tour" Featuring Blockbuster Authors James Dashner, Gordon Korman, Brandon Mull, and Jude Watson

NEW YORK, March 13, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- Scholastic, the global children's publishing, education and media company, and the pioneering publisher of the bestselling multi-platform series The 39 Clues®, Infinity Ring®, and Spirit Animals, announces the "Worlds Collide" initiative—bringing together for the first time authors and fans of its powerhouse multi-platform franchises for kids ages 8-12. Since launching the groundbreaking The 39 Clues series in 2008, the first of its kind in publishing history, Scholastic has continued to innovate and solidify its stake on the multi-platform space with the launch of the bestselling Infinity Ring time travel adventure and the Spirit Animals fantasy series. Each of these multi-platform series is comprised of books in print and digital form, combined with fully integrated and immersive online games that extend the reading experience. There are currently more than 22 million copies of Scholastic's multi-platform books in print, and more than 2.5 million registered online game users in all 50 states and 191 countries worldwide. In addition, the books have been translated in 28 languages.

As part of the "Worlds Collide" initiative, Scholastic will release for the first time a digital "Powerpack" ebook bundle—including three first-in-series books in one volume—featuring The 39 Clues #1: The Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan, Infinity Ring #1: A Mutiny in Time by James Dashner, and Spirit Animals #1: Wild Born by Brandon Mull. Scholastic will support the Worlds Collide initiative with an extensive marketing campaign to link together the global audiences of The 39 Clues, Infinity Ring and Spirit Animals through a dedicated "Worlds Collide" online hub (www.scholastic.com/worldscollide). During the month of April, fans will have special access to an exclusive "mash-up" of online content, combining themes and storylines from all three multi-platform series. In addition, kids will receive weekly rewards including fan fiction story-starters, exclusive author videos and behind-the-scenes access, including writing tips from the book editors, and a chance to play alongside the game designers in a virtual event celebrating the release of a new expansion of the Spirit Animals multi-player game. The Worlds Collide online hub will also launch a new "real-time message board," which will allow fans across the globe to quickly communicate in a safe and moderated environment.

Also in April, bestselling book #1 authors James Dashner (Infinity Ring #1: A Mutiny in Time), Gordon Korman (The 39 Clues Cahills vs Vespers #1: The Medusa Plot), Brandon Mull (Spirit Animals #1: Wild Born), and Jude Watson (The 39 Clues Unstoppable #1: Nowhere to Run) will headline a multi-city "Worlds Collide #1s Live Tour" across the U.S. The tour will kick-off on April 22, 2014, with events in Seattle, Washington; Houston, Texas; Chicago, Illinois; and concluding with an event in Exeter, New Hampshire, featuring special guest Rick Riordan, Maze of Bones author and series architect for The 39 Clues series. This unique multi-author/multi-platform combination will feature interactive social media components and exclusive promotional materials supported by a massive online campaign. For more information about the tour, visit www.scholastic.com/worldscollidetour.

The list of confirmed events is as follows (for more details, please contact the bookstore directly):

  • University Bookstore (Seattle, WA) – April 22
  • Barnes & Noble The Woodlands (Houston, TX) – April 23
  • Anderson's Bookshop (Chicago, IL) – April 24th
  • **Water Street Books (Exeter, New Hampshire) – April 25th (**with special guest Rick Riordan, series architect and author of The 39 Clues #1: Maze of Bones)

"Worlds Collide is a physical and virtual celebration for readers of The 39 Clues, Infinity Ring and Spirit Animals," said Ellie Berger, President, Scholastic Trade. "Since we launched the first-ever multi-platform series in 2008, a vast community of readers and gamers worldwide have joined the hunt for The 39 Clues, gone back in time with Infinity Ring, and entered the fantasy world of Erdas in Spirit Animals. This global community of readers has grown exponentially and engagement among fans continues to increase daily. With this epic combination of author events and cross-pollination among three popular series, kids will have an opportunity to interact and engage with their favorite authors and discover new worlds through books—this is multi-platform at its best."

For more information about The 39 Clues: http://mediaroom.scholastic.com/The39Clues 
For more information about Infinity Ring: http://mediaroom.scholastic.com/InfinityRing
For more information about Spirit Animals: http://mediaroom.scholastic.com/SpiritAnimals

About Scholastic
Scholastic Corporation (NASDAQ: SCHL) is the world's largest publisher and distributor of children's books and a leader in educational technology and related services and children's media. Scholastic creates quality books and ebooks, print and technology-based learning materials and programs, magazines, multi-media and other products that help children learn both at school and at home.  The Company distributes its products and services worldwide through a variety of channels, including school-based book clubs and book fairs, retail stores, schools, libraries, on-air, and online at www.scholastic.com.

Video - http://origin-qps.onstreammedia.com/origin/multivu_archive/PRNA/ENR/FX-NY82729-03132014-01.mp4 
Logo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20100907/SCHOLASTICLOGO

SOURCE Scholastic Inc.



RELATED LINKS
http://www.scholastic.com

More by this Source


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

 

PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.