Second Annual Mellon Awards for Technology Collaboration Announced

Mar 13, 2007, 01:00 ET from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

    NEW YORK, March 13 /PRNewswire-FirstCall/ -- The Andrew W. Mellon
 Foundation today announced the second annual Mellon Awards for Technology
 Collaboration (MATC). The Mellon Awards, in values of $50,000 and $100,000,
 honor not-for-profit organizations for leadership in the collaborative
 development of open source software tools with particular application to
 higher education and not-for-profit activities. More information on the
 awards, including a listing of last year's winners and the 2007 online
 nomination form, is available at
     The awards will be presented at the Fall Task Force meeting of the
 Coalition for Networked Information in Washington, DC on 13 December 2007,
 by Sir Timothy Berners-Lee, Director of the World Wide Web Consortium and
 the inventor of the World Wide Web. The recipients will be selected by the
 MATC Award Committee, which includes Berners-Lee, Mitchell Baker (CEO,
 Mozilla Corporation), John Seely Brown (former Chief Scientist, Xerox
 Corp.), Vinton G. Cerf (Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist,
 Google, Inc.), John Gage (Chief Researcher and Director of the Science
 Office, Sun Microsystems, Inc.), and Tim O'Reilly (Founder and CEO,
 O'Reilly Media).
     The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation is a philanthropic organization with
 offices in New York City and Princeton, NJ. The MATC awards are a project
 of the Foundation's Program in Research in Information Technology (RIT).
 More information about the MATC awards, including the full content of this
 release, is available at

SOURCE The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation