Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, on the Presentation of the CBC Short Story Prize and the Prix de la nouvelle Radio-Canada

Mar 26, 2013, 15:09 ET from Canadian Heritage

OTTAWA, March 26, 2013 /CNW/ - The CBC Short Story Prize and the Prix de la nouvelle Radio-Canada today recognized and rewarded Canadian talent by highlighting original works by writers in both official languages. The prizes were awarded to the best original, unpublished, Canadian-authored short stories.

This year's finalists have shown us once again that Canada has a wealth of wonderful storytellers who work in diverse literary genres. They successfully entertain us, educate us, and make important contributions to our rich cultural heritage.

Our Government is proud to support authors and the publishing of books, an important part of our distinctive identity and dynamic culture. Each year, publishers supported by the Canada Book Fund produce well over 6,000 new Canadian-authored titles by more than 4,000 Canadian writers and translators.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I congratulate all this year's finalists and the two winners, Becky Blake for The Three Times Rule (CBC Short Story Prize) and Fabien Philippe for Janken (Prix de la nouvelle Radio-Canada).

SOURCE Canadian Heritage