The ALS Association Presents a Special Advance Screening of 'Shrek'

Part of National ALS Advocacy Activities in Washington for ALS Awareness Month

Thursday, May 17th

May 16, 2001, 01:00 ET from The ALS Association

    WASHINGTON, May 16 /PRNewswire/ -- As part of National ALS Advocacy Day
 activities, The ALS Association is hosting a special advance screening of the
 DreamWorks feature "Shrek" starring Mike Myers, Eddie Murphy, Cameron Diaz and
 John Lithgow.  This event on Thursday, May 17th will conclude National ALS
 Advocacy Day, where over 400 patients, family members, friends and volunteers
 from over 40 states will be joined by Members of Congress and White House
 staff to view this sure-to-be blockbuster movie.
     The screening will be held in the Conference Center Amphitheatre at The
 Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center.
     "Shrek," a comedy from the computer animation wizards at PDI/DreamWorks,
 is based on the children's book by William Steig.  The film opens in New York
 and Los Angeles on May 16th and nationwide on Friday, May 18th.
     Prior to the screening, The ALS Association will present The Jacob K.
 Javits Public Service Award, given to a Member of Congress in memory of
 Senator Jacob K. Javits, who died of ALS in 1986.  Senator Javits was known
 throughout his life for his compassion, dedication to humanity and his many
 years of public service in the United States House of Representatives and the
 United States Senate.
     Members of Congress, sports celebrities and other notable personalities
 have agreed to serve as honorary committee members for this special evening.
 (A complete list of committee members is attached).
     Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) is a progressive, fatal neuromuscular
 disease that occurs when motor nerve cells cease to function and die.  While a
 person's mind remains sharp and alert, muscle control becomes completely lost.
     The ALS Association is the only national non-profit voluntary health
 organization dedicated solely to the fight against ALS through research,
 patient support, information dissemination and public awareness.  For more
 information, visit
     To schedule interviews or for more information, please contact Carol Levey
 at 818-692-6549.  National pager number is 1-888-796-4488.
     Media Interviews and Photo Opportunities:
       5:30p.m.  Reception
       6:45p.m.  Congressional Awards and "Shrek" Special Advance Screening
       Steve Beuerlein, NFL Quarterback
       Michael Nouri, film and television actor
       Michael Gross, television actor, director, producer
       Steve Garvey, former All-Star baseball player with The Los Angeles
        Dodgers and San Diego Padres
       Steve Stone, former "voice" of The Chicago Cubs and 1983 Cy Young
        Award Winner
       Mrs. Helen Hunter, widow of Hall of Fame pitcher Jim "Catfish" Hunter
       Jay Johnstone, former MLB outfielder, author, businessman
        "Shrek" Special Advance Screening to Benefit The ALS Association
          Conference Center Amphitheatre at The Ronald Reagan Building
                         and International Trade Center
                             Thursday, May 17, 2001
                           Honorary Committee Members
      Steve Beuerlein
      Congressman Roy Blunt
      Congressman Henry Bonilla
      Congresswoman Mary Bono
      Congressman Dave Camp
      Congresswoman Lois Capps
      Senator Thad Cochran
      Senator Susan Collins
      Senator Larry E. Craig
      Congressman Tom Davis
      Congressman Tom DeLay
      Congressman Phil English
      Congressman Mike Ferguson
      Congressman Mark Foley
      Senator Bill Frist
      Congressman Elton Gallegly
      Steve Garvey
      Senator Charles E. Grassley
      Senator Judd Gregg
      Senator Orrin G. Hatch
      Senator Jesse Helms
      Senator James M. Jeffords
      Jay Johnstone
      Rita Kempley
      Senator John F. Kerry
      Congressman James R. Langevin
      Congressman Steve Largent
      Congressman Jerry Lewis
      Congressman Edward J. Markey
      Senator John McCain
      Todd McFarlane
      Congresswoman Connie Morella
      Senator Patty Murray
      Senator Bill Nelson
      Congressman Rob Portman
      Congressman Ralph Regula
      Senator Harry Reid
      Senator Rick Santorum
      Steve Sax
      Michele Snyder
      Senator Arlen Specter
      Senator Ted Stevens
                     MAKE YOUR OPINION COUNT -  Click Here

SOURCE The ALS Association