Three Presidential Candidates, Grassroots Activists, to Plan Future of Tax Policy at Washington, DC Conference

Jun 13, 2007, 01:00 ET from National Taxpayers Union Foundation

    WASHINGTON, June 13 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- With a wide-open race to
 the White House looming and the future of recent tax cuts on the line,
 hundreds of activists, politicians, and journalists will gather this week
 to discuss the future of tax policy -- one of many reasons why a conference
 featuring a "who's who" of taxpayer activists is hoping to make history.
 This event will provide nuts-and-bolts training as well as inspiration to
 citizens seeking to limit government at all levels.
     WHAT: National Taxpayers Conference 2007, organized by National
 Taxpayers Union Foundation (the research arm of the 362,000-member National
 Taxpayers Union) and Iowans for Tax Relief.
     WHERE: The Renaissance Hotel, 999 Ninth St., NW, Washington, DC 20001.
     WHEN: Opening reception begins Thursday, June 14 at 6:00 p.m., with
 presidential candidate Ron Paul (TX) and Congressman Jeff Flake (AZ)
 scheduled to address the attendees. Sessions run on Friday, June 15, 8:15
 a.m.-5:00 p.m., and Saturday, June 16, 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
     WHO: Over 40 sponsoring/exhibiting/supporting organizations, more than
 400 attendees representing over 30 states, England and Canada. Highlights
      - Leaders of successful tax revolts such as California's Proposition 13
        and members of Tennessee Tax Revolt, who fought to limit property tax
        increases in Nashville, TN.
      - U.S. Representatives Ron Paul (TX), Jeb Hensarling (TX), Marsha
        Blackburn (TN), former Governor Jim Gilmore (VA), Senator Jim DeMint
        (SC), and presidential hopeful and former Senator Mike Gravel (AK).
      - Expert economics authors and journalists such as John Fund of The Wall
        Street Journal, syndicated columnist Deroy Murdock, and Professor
        Richard Vedder.
      - Leaders of current anti-tax campaigns underway in states as diverse as
        Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Maryland,
        Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, and
        Virginia (to name a few).

SOURCE National Taxpayers Union Foundation