Virtual NHL Season to Air On G4techTV All 1,230 Regular Season Video Games to be Played Starting October 13



    LOS ANGELES, Sept. 21 /PRNewswire/ -- The NHL lock out may have postponed
 the 2004-2005 season, but disappointed hockey fans can still watch the puck
 drop in more than 50 million U.S. and Canadian homes when the defending
 Stanley Cup champion Tampa Bay Lightning face off against the Philadelphia
 Flyers in the season opener of the video game NHL season on G4techTV.  The
 hard-hitting action begins with highlights, scores and stats, airing daily on
 the network's sports program "Sweat," premiering October 13 at
 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT.  G4techTV is the only 24-hour television network
 devoted to games, gear, gadgets and gigabytes.
     "Millions of die-hard hockey fans on both sides of the border are upset,"
 comments Charles Hirschhorn, "Commissioner" of G4techTV.  "Until the lock out
 ends, G4techTV will be there."
     All 1,230 regular season games originally slated for the 2004-2005 NHL
 season will be played, with results of each video game match-up available to
 fans who tune-in daily to "Sweat."  Up-to-the-minute scores, stats, teams and
 player profiles will be online at www.g4techtv.com.
     G4techTV video game hockey highlights will also air on Comcast SportsNet.
 "We'd rather be televising the live games, but until the real games resume,
 this presents a fun opportunity to maintain the fans' interest," comments
 Jack Williams, President and CEO of Comcast SportsNet.  "This is a natural and
 creative extension of G4techTV's video game expertise."
     Virtual sports competitions are increasingly popular, recently seen by the
 success of the 2004 EA Sports Madden Challenge broadcast on G4techTV, where
 over 16,000 video game competitors across the nation signed up for the
 32-city, 17-week tour, demonstrating that sports video games are in the
 mainstream.
     Tune in daily to "Sweat" at 12:00 Noon ET/9:00 AM PT, 7:00 PM ET/4:00 PM
 PT and 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT for the latest hockey news only on G4techTV.
 
     About G4techTV:
     Formed by the May, 2004 merger of G4 and TechTV, G4techTV is the one and
 only 24-hour television network that is plugged into every dimension of games,
 gear, gadgets and gigabytes.  The network is available in 50 million cable and
 satellite homes nationwide and airs 24 original series.  Headquartered in Los
 Angeles, G4techTV is owned by Comcast Corporation.  To learn more, log onto
 www.g4techtv.com.
 
 

SOURCE G4techTV

Best of Content We Love 2014 


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

 

PR Newswire Membership

Fill out a PR Newswire membership form or contact us at (888) 776-0942.

Learn about PR Newswire services

Request more information about PR Newswire products and services or call us at (888) 776-0942.