Weizmann Women & Science Award to Be Presented to Dr. Carla J. Shatz, Harvard Medical School; Millennial Lifetime Achievement Award To Dr. Mildred S. Dresselhaus, MIT

HHS Secretary Donna Shalala and N.Y. Times Journalist Natalie

Angier Will Participate in June 6th Award Ceremony in NYC

May 08, 2000, 01:00 ET from American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science

    NEW YORK, May 8 /PRNewswire/ -- The 2000 Weizmann Women & Science Award
 will be presented to Dr.Carla J. Shatz of Harvard Medical School.  The award
 includes a $25,000 research grant.
     The Weizmann Women & Science Award is given biennially to an outstanding
 woman scientist in the U.S. who has made a significant contribution through
 research in basic or applied science.  The award aims to enhance the
 visibility of women in science, and to provide role models who will motivate
 and encourage the next generation of young women scientists.
     This year only, in addition to the annual Women & Science Award, a special
 presentation will be made -- the Weizmann Women & Science Millennial Lifetime
 Achievement Award -- to Dr. Mildred S. Dresselhaus of Massachusetts Institute
 of Technology.
     Sara Lee Schupf, Chairwoman of the fifteen-member nominating committee,
 announced the award recipients today.  U.S. Secretary of Health and Human
 Services Donna Shalala will present the awards on June 6, 2000 at The New York
 Academy of Sciences, New York City.   Pulitzer Prize winner and New York
 Times journalist Natalie Angier will serve as moderator of the ceremony.
     Dr. Carla J. Shatz, recipient of the Women & Science Award, is Chair of
 the Department of Neurobiology at Harvard Medical School in Boston.  She has
 made many key discoveries about the mechanisms that control the development of
 neural connections in the brain.  Her work has had the broadest implications
 in our understanding of brain development, including neurological birth
     Dr. Mildred S. Dresselhaus, recipient of the Weizmann Women & Science
 Millennial Lifetime Achievement Award, is Institute Professor of Electrical
 Engineering and Physics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  She studies
 a range of problems in the physics of solids and has made vast contribution to
 scientific and engineering research.  Moreover, she was the first and remains
 the only female of ten active Institute Professors at MIT, and has advanced
 the cause of women in science and engineering.
     "Dr. Shatz and Dr. Dresselhaus represent two of the most outstanding
 scientists in the U.S.," said Ms. Schupf, who chairs the award nominating
 committee comprised of leading scientists from universities, foundations,
 medical centers and government agencies. "Not only are they acknowledged
 leaders in their important fields of research, but they are women who
 personify the importance of inspiring other women to enter the scientific
 research and medical fields."
     Ms. Sara Lee Schupf, who is the namesake of the Sara Lee Corporation, is
 an active philanthropic leader with a particular interest in advocacy on
 behalf of connecting women to science.

SOURCE American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science