Willie Nelson Presents the Veteran of the Year Award to Kris Kristofferson

- Hollywood Joins the Military in Patriotic Tribute to America's

Servicemembers -

Jan 21, 2003, 00:00 ET from American Veteran Awards

    BEVERLY HILLS, Calif., Jan. 21 /PRNewswire/ -- The History Channel will
 premiere the 8th annual American Veteran Awards (the AVAs), featuring Willie
 Nelson presenting the Veteran of the Year award to Army veteran Kris
 Kristofferson on Sunday, February 9, 2003 at 7:00p ET/PT.
     "Coming from a family and a generation committed to duty, honor and
 country, I'm very grateful to be honored by the AVAs.  And Willie Nelson never
 said so many nice things about me in his life," said Kristofferson.
     Produced in cooperation with the Department of Defense, Department of
 Veterans Affairs and NASA, the AVAs pay tribute to America's past, present and
 future service members on land, in the air, at sea and in space.  AT&T and
 Help Hospitalized Veterans (HHV) co-present this star-studded salute also
 honoring Brooks and Dunn -- Elvis Presley Patriotic Song Award for "Only In
 America;" Charlie Sheen -- Audie Murphy Theatrical Award; Wolf Blitzer --
 Ernie Pyle Journalism Award; Bo Derek -- Woman of Honor Award; Gerald McRaney
 -- National Veteran Salute Award; Randall Wallace -- Best Patriotic Picture
 Award for "We Were Soldiers;" and Robert Nardelli, Chairman, President and CEO
 of The Home Depot -- Corporate Patriotism Award.
     Staff Sgt. Charles Hawkins, U.S. Air Force; Sgt. Jason Burgess, U.S. Army;
 Boatswain's Mate Second Class David An, U.S. Coast Guard; Yeoman Seaman Cean
 Whitmarsh, U.S. Navy; and Cpl. Sean Tallon (posthumously), U.S. Marine Corps,
 receive the Enlisted Service Member Award presented by AT&T.
     Other presenters and honored guests include: Dennis Franz; Eric Roberts;
 Esai Morales; Jack Kemp; Sam Elliott; Katharine Ross; Dennis Farina; Lee
 Reherman; Gary Busey; Danny Trejo; David Carradine; Sally Kirkland; Ernest
 Borgnine; Robert Davi; A.C. Lyles; Carol Connors; Brian Setzer; Tracy Byrd;
 Kimaya and Monty Seward; The Pendragons; Anthony Principi, Secretary of
 Veterans Affairs; Gen. James Jones, Commandant, U.S. Marine Corps; Gen. Lester
 Lyles, Commander, Air Force Materiel Command, U.S. Air Force; Sgt. Maj. Alford
 McMichael, U.S. Marine Corps; Master Chief Petty Officer Terry Scott, U.S.
 Navy; Frederick Gregory, Deputy Administrator of NASA; Lt. Gen. Harold Moore,
 U.S. Army (Ret.;) Carl Brashear, Navy Master Diver, (Ret;) Astronaut Buzz
 Aldrin; Congresswoman Juanita Millender-McDonald; Mrs. John Frankenheimer and
 Mrs. Rod Steiger.
      Other corporate partners include 1800FLOWERS.COM, AARP, Adelphia,
 American Forces Radio and Television Services, CNN, Defense Commissary Agency,
 Delta Air Lines, Elvis Presley Enterprises, Fisher House, Gibson Guitar Corp,
 NFL, National Military Family Association, Universal Studios and Yahoo!
     About the American Veteran Awards
     The American Veteran Awards (the AVAs) is America's preeminent tribute
 uniting arts and entertainment with the patriotic fabric of our nation -- our
 past, present and future military and their families.  The AVAs are an annual
 project of Veterans Foundation Incorporated, a 23-year old nationally
 recognized non-profit, non-political, non-membership 501(c)(3) organization.
 For more info, visit www.avashow.com .
     Interviews, photos and B-roll are available upon request.

SOURCE American Veteran Awards