Wind-Up Records, 20th Century Fox and MySpace Announce Rockett Queen as the Winner of the JOHN TUCKER MUST DIE Undiscovered Band Contest

Jun 08, 2006, 01:00 ET from Wind-up Records

    NEW YORK, June 8 /PRNewswire/ -- Wind-up Records, 20th Century Fox and
 MySpace awarded Tyler, Texas pop/punk band Rockett Queen their big break as
 winners of The John Tucker Must Die Undiscovered Band contest
 ( The contest, which began on April 4th
 gave unsigned artists the opportunity to submit their music for inclusion
 in the movie and on the soundtrack to JOHN TUCKER MUST DIE. Rockett Queen's
 song "Next Big Thing" was chosen as the grand prize winner by a panel of
 celebrity judges and music executives.
     The voting panel was comprised of actor Jesse Metcalfe (star of John
 Tucker Must Die, Desperate Housewives) director Betty Thomas (John Tucker
 Must Die, Howard Stern's Private Parts), music supervisor Alex Patsavas
 (John Tucker Must Die, The O.C, Grey's Anatomy, Rescue Me), recording
 artist Stefy Rae whose debut album will be released by Wind-up on August
 29th ( and Executive V.P., A&R Wind-up Records,
 Diana Meltzer.
     In 20th Century Fox's JOHN TUCKER MUST DIE three popular girls from
 different cliques discover they've all been dating the same school stud
 when they decide not to get mad but to get even! Despite this ladies man's
 charm and ever-growing popularity, the girls enlist the inconspicuous new
 girl to help cook up a clever scheme to ruin his reputation and break his
 heart. This summer's hottest comedy stars Jesse Metcalfe, Sophia Bush,
 Brittany Snow, Ashanti, and Jenny McCarthy and opens in theatres on July
 28, 2006.
     In addition to Rockett Queen, the soundtrack for JOHN TUCKER MUST DIE
 features two songs from STEFY, The All-American Rejects, Cartel, Nada Surf,
 Motion City Soundtrack, People In Planes, Ben Lee, OK Go, Quietdrive, Josh
 Kelley, and The Caesars. The soundtrack will be released by Wind-up Records
 on July 18, 2006.
     Over 6500 unsigned bands submitted songs through for
 consideration. From these initial entries, 20 semi-finalists were chosen by
 members of the MySpace staff. Next, the 20 semi-finalist bands enlisted the
 support of their own fan bases, or MySpace 'friends,' to generate support
 delivering votes placing them among the top 10 finalists. The panel of
 judges then chose the grand prize winner from the final 10. All ten
 finalists will receive an electric guitar courtesy of Gibson.
     One of the world's largest producers and distributors of motion
 pictures, Fox Filmed Entertainment produces, acquires, and distributes
 motion pictures throughout the world. These motion pictures are produced or
 acquired by the following units of FFE: Twentieth Century Fox, Fox 2000,
 Fox Searchlight Pictures, Fox Atomic, and Twentieth Century Fox Animation.

SOURCE Wind-up Records