News from western writers of america


Mar 13, 2014, 14:02 ET

2014 Spur Awards Honor Best Westerns

Anne Hillerman's "Spider Woman's Daughter" – which continues the popular mystery series created by her late father, Tony Hillerman –...

Feb 03, 2014, 16:09 ET

Robert J. Conley to Receive 2014 Owen Wister Award

Cherokee author Robert J. Conley is the 2014 recipient of the Owen Wister Award for Lifetime Contributions to Western Literature. The award is...

Mar 19, 2013, 13:14 ET

WWA Announces 2013 Spur Award Winners

Thomas Cobb's "With Blood in Their Eyes" won the 2013 Spur Award for Best Western Long Novel, and Robert M. Utley's "Geronimo" won for Best...

Feb 09, 2013, 18:11 ET

Jory Sherman To Receive 2013 Owen Wister Award

 Western Writers of America will present Jory Sherman with its highest honor, the 2013 Owen Wister Award for lifetime contributions to Western...

May 18, 2012, 14:29 ET

WWA to honor novelist Estleman with Owen Wister Award

 Loren D. Estleman, the prolific novelist of Westerns and mysteries, will be honored by Western Writers of America as the 2012 recipient of the...

Mar 22, 2012, 09:00 ET

2012 Spur Awards Honor Best Westerns

 Santa Fe, N.M., author Johnny D. Boggs won Spur Awards for two novels, while Rod Miller of Sandy, Utah, also won two Spurs this year for...

Apr 10, 2011, 19:25 ET

Western Writers of America 2011 Spur Awards

"True Grit," a remake of the 1969 movie classic of the same name, and veteran novelist Richard Wheeler are among the winners of the 2011 Spur...

Mar 20, 2010, 16:00 ET

2010 Spur Awards Salute Best Westerns

Former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor has won a 2010 Spur Award from Western Writers of America for "Finding Susie," her somewhat...

Jun 18, 2009, 13:00 ET

Gunsmoke, Lonesome Dove Top List of Greatest TV Westerns, According to Western Writers of America

GUNSMOKE, which ran for 20 years on CBS, has been chosen the Greatest TV Western Series of All Time by Western Writers of America. LONESOME DOVE,...

May 18, 2009, 13:37 ET

Western Writers Gallop into Oklahoma

Former Oklahoma Gov. Frank Keating is among those who will be honored when the top hands at writing about the American West gather for the...

Mar 25, 2009, 12:48 ET

2009 Spur Awards Honor Best Westerns

Former Oklahoma Gov. Frank Keating picked up his second Spur Award from Western Writers of America in the annual competition that honors...

Feb 09, 2009, 13:53 ET

Western Writers of America to Honor Elmore Leonard for Lifetime Contribution

Elmore Leonard, who mastered the Western in novels such as HOMBRE and short stories like "The Boy Who Smiled" and "The Tonto Woman," will receive...

Jun 13, 2008, 01:00 ET

SHANE the Greatest Western Movie of All Time, Western Writers of America Announces

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz., June 13 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- SHANE, director George Stevens' classic 1953 movie about a weary gunfighter caught up in a...

Mar 24, 2008, 01:00 ET

2008 Spur Awards Honors Best Westerns

CHANDLER, Ariz., March 24 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Novelist Sandra Dallas and historian Robert M. Utley picked up their second career Spur...

Jan 22, 2008, 00:00 ET

Western Writers of America to Honor Tony Hillerman for Lifetime Contribution

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M., Jan. 22 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Best-selling novelist Tony Hillerman, author of the critically acclaimed mystery series...

Nov 20, 2007, 00:00 ET

Western Writers of America Announce New Spur Award Category

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M., Nov. 20 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Western Writers of America, a guild of 600 professional writers of Western literature, has...

Apr 19, 2007, 01:00 ET

Western Writers of America Honoring John Jakes for Lifetime Achievement

SPRINGFIELD, Mo., April 19 /PRNewswire/ -- John Jakes, best-selling author of the "Kent Family Chronicles" and the "North and South" trilogy,...

Mar 17, 2007, 01:00 ET

2007 Spur Awards Honor Best Westerns

PHOENIX, March 17 /PRNewswire/ -- Tony Hillerman's THE SHAPE SHIFTER won the 2007 Spur Award from Western Writers of America as Best Western...

Nov 13, 2006, 00:00 ET

America's Soul: Western Writers of America Redefining 'Western'

FRANKLIN, Tenn., Nov. 13 /PRNewswire/ -- "Western writing, to me," award-winning mystery writer Tony Hillerman says, "is when you're flying from...

Jun 05, 2006, 01:00 ET

Western Writers of America to Converge on Cody for Convention

CODY, Wyo., June 5 /PRNewswire/ -- More than 100 writers and editors of Western literature will stampede this month into the town founded by...

Organizations in the News

The organizations with the most activity in PR Newswire's News Room

Research and Markets