2013 ICD Fellowship Awards: Four Canadian directors chosen for outstanding performance and leadership in the boardroom

Jan 11, 2013, 08:00 ET from Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD)

TORONTO, Jan. 11, 2013 /CNW/ - The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2013 ICD Fellowship Awards: Denis Desautels, OC, FCA (Ottawa), Carol Hansell (Toronto), Harold MacKay, OC, SOM, QC (Regina) and Charles E. (Chuck) Shultz, ICD.D (Calgary).

Every year, the ICD confers the F.ICD designation to a prominent group of directors who champion best practices in effective governance and contribute to the long-term sustainability of the organizations they serve.

"As calls for greater accountability and oversight in the boardroom continue to grow louder, directors in this country are really stepping up to the challenge - that was truly reflected in the quality of the nominations we received this year," said Ms. Mary Mogford, F.ICD, ICD.D, Chair of the ICD Fellowship Selection Committee.

ICD Fellows are nominated by their peers and selected by an independent committee based on several criteria including leadership, accountability to stakeholders, contributions to governance, management relations, enhancing the effectiveness of the board and collegiality. Contributions outside of the boardroom such as published material, speaking engagements, and community involvement are also considered.

Serving on the 2013 Selection Committee are Beverley A. Briscoe, FCA, F.ICD (2012), Ian A. Bourne, F.ICD (2011), ICD.D, Gail Cook-Bennett, F.ICD (2000), Mary Mogford, F.ICD (2002), ICD.D, Sir Graham Day, F.ICD (2000) and Robert Després, O.C., G.O.Q., M.Sc., FCMA, F.ICD (2009).

The Fellows will be inducted at the 16th annual ICD Fellowship Awards Gala on May 22, 2013 in Toronto. The gala will be held in conjunction with the third annual ICD National Conference. Tickets for the conference and awards gala can be purchased by calling the ICD at 1-877-593-7741 or emailing registrations@icd.ca.

Previous ICD Fellowship inductees include: Mr. John A. MacNaughton, C.M., F.ICD, ICD.D, Chairman, Business Development Bank of Canada (2011), Hon. Paule Gauthier, P.C., O.C., O.Q., Q.C., F.ICD, Director, TransCanada (2007), and Jalynn H. Bennett, C.M., F.ICD, Director, Cadillac Fairview Corporation (1999).

The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) is a not-for-profit, member-based association representing Canadian directors and boards across the for-profit, not-for-profit, and government sectors. The ICD has more than 6,500 members across a network of 11 chapters. We foster the sharing of knowledge and wisdom through education, professional development programs and services, and thought leadership and advocacy to achieve the highest standard of directorship. For more information, please visit: www.icd.ca.

SOURCE Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD)