ATA Leaders Congratulate EPA SmartWay Excellence Award Winners

Oct 22, 2013, 14:00 ET from American Trucking Associations

ORLANDO, Fla., Oct. 22, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Today, American Trucking Associations leaders congratulated several members who were named Environmental Protection Agency's SmartWay Excellence Award winners.


"Since its launch, SmartWay has been a great example of the government working with private industry toward a common goal," ATA President and CEO Bill Graves said. "So congratulations to these deserving winners and thanks to our partners at EPA for their support."

ATA member companies receiving SmartWay Excellence Awards include: Menlo Worldwide Logistics; Ryder Integrated Logistics Inc.; Transplace; YRC Worldwide Inc.;  Marten Transport LTD;  Lowe's Companies Inc.; Toyota Logistics Services; Tennessee Express Inc.; P & S Transportation; System Transport Inc.; Con-way Freight; Penske Logistics LLC; Tennant Truck Lines Inc.; JBS Carriers Inc.; Prime Inc.; Keen Transport Inc.; Con-way Truckload; Covenant Transport; CRST Van Expedited Inc.; Knight Transportation Inc.; Swift Transportation Co.; Werner Enterprises; Mesilla Valley Transportation and NFI Industries Inc.

"An important part of improving our image as an industry is changing the public perception that our industry belches the black smoke of the 1970s into the air," said outgoing ATA Chairman Mike Card, president of Combined Transport. "These companies are at the vanguard of doing that by showing just how green and responsible trucking can be and they should be commended for their efforts."

American Trucking Associations is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry. Through a federation of 50 affiliated state trucking associations and industry-related conferences and councils, ATA is the voice of the industry America depends on most to move our nation's freight. Follow ATA on Twitter or on Facebook. Good stuff. Trucks Bring It!

SOURCE American Trucking Associations