BorgWarner Presents Trophy To Indianapolis 500 Winner Ryan Hunter-Reay

Verizon IndyCar® Series Boosted by BorgWarner EFR (Engineered For Racing) Turbochargers for Third Year

May 27, 2014, 08:00 ET from BorgWarner Inc.

AUBURN HILLS, Mich., May 27, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- Following the 98th running of the "Greatest Spectacle in Racing," BorgWarner President and Chief Executive Officer James Verrier presented 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay with the Borg-Warner Trophy™ in Victory Lane.With his first Indianapolis 500 win, Ryan Hunter-Reay has earned his place in racing history. His will be the 101st sterling silver image to be added to the prestigious and historic trophy. Winning by the second-closest margin in the history of the race, Ryan Hunter-Reay is also the first American winner since Sam Hornish Jr. in 2006.

"Observing the 100 faces on the Borg-Warner Trophy literally places you in the company of the most talented and skilled drivers in the history of racing. It's truly inspiring to consider the achievement, performance and technology leadership demonstrated at the Indianapolis 500," said Verrier. "In our third year as the exclusive turbocharger supplier for the Verizon IndyCar® Series, BorgWarner's EFR turbochargers boosted every car in the field. Everyone at BorgWarner is proud to be part of the long tradition of the Indianapolis 500 and excited to provide our leading technologies for today's competitors."

Designed to boost the performance of down-sized engines while improving fuel economy, BorgWarner's EFR turbochargers offer an unprecedented combination of advanced technologies. EFR turbochargers built specifically for the Verizon IndyCar Series feature low-weight Gamma-Ti turbine wheels and shaft assemblies for quick boost response. Patent-pending ceramic ball bearings increase thrust capacity and durability while improving turbine efficiency at low expansion ratios. In addition, the investment cast stainless steel turbine housing increases efficiency, improves durability and resists corrosion. BorgWarner's EFR turbochargers have earned a reputation for powerful performance, durability and dependability at numerous world-class endurance races, including the Indianapolis 500, Petit Le Mans, 12 Hours of Sebring and 24 Hours of Le Mans.

About the Borg-Warner Trophy
The Borg-Warner Trophy features the sterling silver image of every Indianapolis 500 winner dating back to Ray Harroun in 1911. Made of 110 pounds of sterling silver and standing 5 feet, 4-3/4 inches tall, the trophy originally cost $10,000 and is currently valued at $3.5 million. The Borg-Warner Trophy stays on permanent display at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum. To give the winner and team owners a personal keepsake of their victory, BorgWarner established the BorgWarner Championship Driver's Trophy™ (also known as the "Baby Borg") in 1988 and the BorgWarner Team Owner's Trophy™ in 1998. Both are sterling silver replicas of the Borg-Warner Trophy.

For more information about the trophies, visit and choose "The Indianapolis 500" from the "Company" pull-down menu at the top of the home page.

About BorgWarner
BorgWarner Inc. (NYSE: BWA) is a product leader in highly engineered components and systems for powertrains around the world. Operating manufacturing and technical facilities in 60 locations in 19 countries, the company delivers innovative powertrain solutions to improve fuel economy, reduce emissions and enhance performance. For more information, please visit

The Borg-Warner Trophy, BorgWarner Championship Driver's Trophy, and BorgWarner Championship Team Owner's Trophy are trademarks of BorgWarner Inc. IndyCar (and Design) are registered trademarks of Brickyard Trademarks, Inc., used with permission. Verizon is a registered trademark of Verizon Communications Inc., used with permission.

Photo -

Photo -

SOURCE BorgWarner Inc.