Canadian Wind Energy Association (CanWEA) announces annual award winners at 29th Annual Conference and Exhibition in Toronto, Ontario

Oct 10, 2013, 11:00 ET from Canadian Wind Energy Association

TORONTO, Oct. 10, 2013 /CNW/ - Every year the Canadian wind energy industry celebrates visionary leaders and clean energy pioneers as annual awards are presented at its Annual Conference and Exhibition.  The event - the largest wind energy conference in Canada - this year hosted more than 1,500 professionals from the wind energy industry and accommodated over 150 exhibiting companies.

This year, CanWEA presented awards that recognize organizations and individuals who have worked diligently to advance the Canadian wind energy industry. In addition to unveiling the recipients of the traditional Individual Leadership, Group Leadership, Friend of Wind, Matt Holder Community Connection and the R.J. Templin Award, recognition was also bestowed upon the winner of the Wind Energy Project Award. Awarded for the first time in 2013, this award was presented to EDF EN Canada and Enbridge for the Lac-Alfred Wind Farm in Quebec, Canada's largest wind farm. This project, commissioned this year, has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to responsible and sustainable development through its initial development, community engagement, permitting, and construction.

Matt Holder Community Connection Award: First awarded in 2012, the Matt Holder Community Connection Award is awarded annually to an individual working for a CanWEA member who embodies the mandate of responsible and sustainable development through a commitment to understanding a Canadian community and forming meaningful relationships within that community built on mutual respect and trust.

Awarded to: Terry Kwas, TransAlta Corporation

Friend of Wind Award: First awarded in 2009, the CanWEA Friend of Wind award is awarded annually to individuals or groups not employed by the wind energy industry in recognition of outstanding voluntary contributions they have made to advance awareness of the benefits of wind energy at the community level in Canada.

Awarded to: Malcolm Hamilton

Individual Leadership Award: First awarded in 2003, the CanWEA Individual Leadership Award is awarded annually to an individual working in the wind energy industry for a CanWEA Member who has, through their own efforts and body of work over time, contributed significantly to the advancement of wind energy in Canada.

Awarded to: Michael Weidemann, ENERCON Canada

Group Leadership Award: First awarded in 2001, the CanWEA Group Leadership Award is awarded annually to a government, corporation or non-profit organization that has, contributed significantly to the advancement of wind energy in Canada.

Awarded to: Rio Tinto for their Diavik Diamond Mine Wind Farm

R.J. Templin Award: First awarded in 1985, the R.J. Templin Award is awarded to any individual or organization who has undertaken scientific, technical, engineering or policy research and development work that has produced results that have served to significantly advance the wind energy industry in Canada.

Awarded to: The Pembina Institute

About CanWEA:

CanWEA is the voice of Canada's wind energy industry, actively promoting the responsible and sustainable growth of wind energy on behalf of its members. A national non-profit association, CanWEA serves as Canada's leading source of credible information about wind energy and its social, economic and environmental benefits. Join us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and for insight on industry issues join the conversation at

For Canada to be a world leader in the production of clean wind energy, CanWEA believes we can and must reach a target of producing 20 per cent or more of our electricity. Learn more at

SOURCE Canadian Wind Energy Association