Carnegie Hero Fund Commission Elects Chair, New President

Jan 08, 2014, 13:53 ET from Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

PITTSBURGH, Jan. 8, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- Mark Laskow, President of the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission, announced today that effective immediately he will assume the role of Chair of the Commission, and that Walter F. Rutkowski, who has served as Executive Director, was elected President.

Laskow, who was elected President of the Commission in 2001, said the change in his title was made to reflect current foundation governance structure.  Rutkowski joined the Hero Fund in 1973 as an investigator. He was promoted to Investigations Manager in 1981, elected Secretary of the organization in 1986, and named Executive Director in 1991. He becomes the eighth president of the 110-year-old private operating foundation.  The 21-member commission was established by industrialist-philanthropist Andrew Carnegie in 1904.

The Hero Fund awards the Carnegie Medal to individuals throughout the United States and Canada who risk their lives to an extraordinary degree saving or attempting to save the lives of others. To date, 9,653 Carnegie Medals have been awarded, and more than $35.6 million has been given in one-time grants, scholarship aid, death benefits, and continuing assistance.

Fuller information on the Carnegie Medal and the history of the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission can be found at       

Contact: Douglas R. Chambers
Toll free: 1-800-447-8900

SOURCE Carnegie Hero Fund Commission