Critical Hit: New Videogame Music Tribute Band Featuring Top Industry Talent

Renowned videogame composer Jason Hayes performs gaming's greatest hits with debut album now available for pre-order

Oct 24, 2013, 19:06 ET from Critical Hit

LOS ANGELES, Oct. 24, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Today marks the announcement of Critical Hit, an all-star band headed by composer Jason Hayes - best known for his work on the acclaimed World of Warcraft soundtrack - and featuring award-winning performers and recording artists with a staggering list of videogame, film, and live performance credits, including The Annual Primetime Emmy's, Cirque Du Soleil, American Idol, and more. Critical Hit is pleased to announce their debut album, Critical Hit: Volume One, and release their debut music video, featuring the main theme of Angry Birds.


Critical Hit: Volume One will ship on October 31, featuring 12 electrifying arrangements of gaming's greatest hits. Tracks from World of WarcraftSuper Mario WorldThe Legend of ZeldaThe Elder Scrolls V: SkyrimHaloFinal FantasyCall of DutyMetal Gear Solid, and more are presented in a wide variety of musical styles from rock to classical and beyond.


Musicians Hall of Fame inductee David Frank Paich, pianist of the legendary band Toto and co-writer on hit titles AfricaRosanna, and Hold the Line, is featured on the album.

Critical Hit: Volume One and branded merchandise are now available for purchase on the band's official website. Those who pre-order prior to October 31, 2013 will receive their items personally signed by Jason Hayes:

"Playing in bands was a big part of my life before I became a full-time composer," comments Critical Hit founder Jason Hayes, "so it's awesome to be able to return to live performance, while exploring my favorite videogame themes with such amazing and accomplished musician friends. The best part is connecting with people who are as passionate about videogame music as I am."

The full track listing for Critical Hit: Volume One is as follows: 

01. Tetris: "Main Theme"
02. Angry Birds: "Main Theme"
03. World of Warcraft: "Legends of Azeroth"
04. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time: "Zelda's Lullaby"
05. Halo 2: "Main Theme"
06. Pokemon: "Main Theme"
07. Super Mario World: "Bowser's Castle"
08. Final Fantasy X: "To Zanarkand"
09. Kingdom Hearts: "Hikari"
10. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3: "Battle for New York"
11. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: "Streets of Whiterun"
12. Metal Gear Solid 2: "Main Theme"

Visit the Critical Hit website for upcoming concert dates and more:  

About Critical Hit

Critical Hit was founded in 2013 by videogame industry veterans Jason Hayes and Michael Gluck. Their passion for videogames, music composition, and live performance led to the formation of Critical Hit, a band featuring the best musicians in the industry. Their debut album, Critical Hit: Volume One, is currently available for pre-order.

Learn more about Critical Hit on their official website: 
Follow Critical Hit: TwitterFacebook, and YouTube 

About Critical Hit's Founders

Jason Hayes is an award-winning composer and member of Blizzard Entertainment's development team, where he works on titles in the popular World of WarcraftStarCraft, and Diablo franchises. Jason has also contributed to the soundtracks of Dota 2 and Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

While his stirring videogame scores have reached millions around the globe, his desire to get closer to game music fans led to the formation of Critical Hit, a band that performs engaging arrangements of gaming's greatest hits.

Follow Jason Hayes on Twitter: 

Michael Gluck is the Founder of VGMarket. Established in 2007, VGMarket is the videogame industry's leading market research firm.

From 2003 to 2007, Michael performed videogame and anime music piano concerts under the stage name "Piano Squall" to benefit the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. He is the first independent musician to publish a videogame and anime piano solo album, entitled GAME. Michael's music has been featured on major entertainment websites and publications, including IGN, MTV, and Newtype Magazine.


Related Links
Critical Hit Official Website 
Angry Birds: "Main Theme" by Critical Hit 
Critical Hit Facebook Fan Page 
Critical Hit Twitter Page

Video with caption: "Angry Birds: "Main Theme" by Critical Hit Pre-order the full album, Critical Hit: Volume One - - prior to October 31. All pre-orders will be autographed by World of Warcraft composer Jason Hayes. Track samples and pre-order details available on official website. Critical Hit is a video game music tribute band performing original arrangements and electrifying live concerts of music from the most celebrated video games of all time. Critical Hit Official Sites:" Video available at:

Image with caption: "Critical Hit Logo -" Image available at:

Image with caption: "Critical Hit Poster." Image available at:

SOURCE Critical Hit