Education experts available for commentary

May 28, 2015, 16:11 ET from Canadian Society for the Study of Education

OTTAWA, May 28, 2015 /CNW/ - Canada's largest annual gathering of education experts is happening in Ottawa from May 30th to June 3rd. The annual conference of the Canadian Society for the Study of Education (CSSE) takes place at the Faculty of Education, University of Ottawa. CSSE is the largest organization of professors, students, researchers and practitioners in education in Canada. It is the major national voice for those who create educational knowledge, prepare teachers and educational leaders, and apply research in the schools, classrooms and institutions of Canada.

During the conference, education experts are available to provide media commentary and analysis on the following topics:

INDIGENOUS/ABORIGINAL EDUCATION


Truth and Reconciliation Report: Implications for education


Dr. Helen Raptis, University of Victoria
Federal-provincial collaboration in indigenous education
Cell: 250-507-2369
Email: hraptis@uvic.ca




Dr. Nicholas Ng-A-Fook, University of Ottawa
Cell: 613-866-1203
Email: nngafook@uottawa.ca
Twitter: @nick_ngafook


History of residential schools, Restorative justice in schools


Dr. Kristina Llewellyn, University of Waterloo
Cell: 289-682-9335
Email: kristina.llewellyn@uwaterloo.ca


Statistics and Data on Aboriginal Children


Anne Guevremont, Statistics Canada
Cell: 613-853-9355
Email: anne.guevremont@gmail.com


Aboriginal Education


Dr. Kevin O'Connor, Mount Royal University
Email:koconnor@mtroyal.ca
Cell: 403-619-8642


Decolonization in schools


Nikki Yee
Email: nikki.yee@alumni.ubc.ca
Cell: (778) 846-5049


MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES IN EDUCATION


Dr. Chris Gilham, St. Francis Xavier University
Email: cgilham@stfx.ca
Cell: 902 318 4538




Dr. Aparna Mishra Tarc, York University
Cell: 519-933-2664
Email: AMishraTarc@edu.yorku.ca


LEADERSHIP


Student Engagement and Student Leadership


Dr. Stephen Berg
Cell: 250-826-6858
Email: stephen.berg@ubc.ca


BULLYING


Bullying in schools


Dr. Kristina Llewellyn
kristina.llewellyn@uwaterloo.ca
cell: 289-682-9335


Cyberbullying


Dr. Laurie Hellsten, University of Saskatchewan
email: laurie.hellsten@usask.ca
Cell Phone: 306-371-5600


CITIZENSHIP EDUCATION, IMMIGRANT INTEGRATION


Global citizenship


Dr. Kristina Llewellyn, University of Waterloo
Email: kristina.llewellyn@uwaterloo.ca
cell: 289-682-9335




Dr. Yvonne Hébert, University of Calgary
Cell:  1.403.512.1944
Email: yhebert@ucalgary.ca OR yhebert408@gmail.com


INCLUSIVE EDUCATION


Terry Soleas, Brock University
Cell: 289-668-9007
Email: terry.soleas@gmail.com


ONLINE LEARNING


Dr. Norm Vaughan, Mount Royal University
Email: nvaughan@mtroyal.ca
Cell: 403-836-1819




Dr. Michael K. Barbour, Sacred Heart University, CT
K-12 distance education and/or K-12 online learning
Email: mkbarbour@gmail.com
Cell: 203-997-6330)




Dr. Julie Mueller, Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo
Technology Enhanced Learning in Kindergarten to Post-secondary; integrated and engaged learning
Cell: 519-572-0092
Email: jmueller@wlu.ca




Dr. Alec Couros
Email: alec.couros@uregina.ca


SOCIAL JUSTICE


Youth activism, social justice education, service-learning, teacher education for diversity


Dr. Darren Lund, University of Calgary
Cell: 403-796-5863
Email: dlund@ucalgary.ca


LEARNING AND VIDEO GAMES


Dr. Kelsey Schmitz, University of Ottawa
Cell: 613-794-5357
Email: kcmschmitz@gmail.com cell phone
@KelseyCMS twitter


Preschool children's digital literacy practices with digital devices


Suzanna So Har Wong, University of Alberta
Cell: 587-921-2834
Email: suzannaw@ualberta.ca


WOMEN IN LEADERSHIP IN EDUCATION


Brittany Jukubiec
Cell: 902 213 0175
Email:  bjakubiec@upei.ca


ASSESSMENT AND EVALUATION


Classroom assessment; psychometric and policy issues of large-scale assessments; program evaluation; and measures of school effectiveness


Don Klinger
Email: don.klinger@queensu.ca
Tel: (613) 533-3028


Assessment and evaluation, education governance, education policy analysis, international achievement testing, comparative and international assessment 


Dr. Louis Volante, Brock University
Cell: 905-616-0269
Email: lvolante@brocku.ca


FRANCOPHONE EXPERTS


Stress, santé mentale et leadership chez les directions des établissements scolaires, particulièrement dans le contexte actuel de coupure et de sous valorisation de la profession au Québec.


Dr. Emmanuel Poirel, Université de Montréal
Cell 514 452-6931
Courriel: emmanuel.poirel@umontreal.ca


E-assessment, mobile learning, mobile assessment, intégration des TIC dans l'enseignement, évaluation agrégée / évaluation hiérarchique des apprentissages / hierarchical aggregate assessment


Dr. Martin Lesage
Tel: (514) 667-0329
Courrier: lesage.martin.3@courrier.uqam.ca


Reading/writing development and instruction in the primary grades


Dr. Alain Desrochers, Université d'Ottawa,
Téléphone : 613-562-5800, poste 4291
Courriel : Alain.Desrochers@uOttawa.ca


Didactique du français et en formation professionnelle des enseignants dans une perspective de développement de compétences


Dr. Athanase Simbagoye.
Tél. cellulaire : 705-822-8036
Courriel: asimbagoye@laurentienne.ca


BILINGUAL EDUCATION


Dr. Carlos Ruano, Conference Board of Canada
Principal Research Associate, CBoC
Phone: 202-290-7658
Email: tikalforest@gmail.com


EQUITY IN HIGHER EDUCATION


Dr. Virginia Stead, Peter Lang Publishing
Email: virginia.stead@alum.utoronto.ca.


LGBTQ ISSUES


Dr. Jen Gilbert, York University
Cell: 416-803-2340
Email: jgilbert@edu.yorku.ca




Dr. Robert C. Mizzi, University of Manitoba
email: Robert.Mizzi@umanitoba.ca
twitter: @DrRCMizzi
Cell 204 599 2336


PHYSICAL EDUCATION, HEALTH EDUCATION, YOUTH FITNESS


Dr. Stephen Berg, UBC Okanagan
Cell: 250-826-6858
Email: stephen.berg@ubc.ca




Dr. Laurie Hellsten, University of Saskatchewan
email: laurie.hellsten@usask.ca
Cell Phone: 306-371-5600


MUSIC AND ARTS EDUCATION


Music and arts education, creativity, and teacher development in the arts


Dr. Bernie Andrews, University of Ottawa
Tel: 613-562-5800 ex. 4028
E-mail: b.w.andrews@uottawa.ca

 

SOURCE Canadian Society for the Study of Education



RELATED LINKS

http://www.csse-scee.ca/csse/