Engineering and Science Hall of Fame to Induct: Martin Cooper, Inventor of the Personal Cellular Phone; Dr. Sunggyu Lee, Inventor of Alternative Fuels and Supercritical Fluid Technologies; Arthur E. Morgan, Designer of Flood Control Systems and Dams

Bi-annual Event to be Held on Thursday, November 14 at 6 p.m.

Oct 17, 2013, 10:00 ET from The Engineering and Science Hall of Fame

DAYTON, Ohio, Oct. 17, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- The Engineering and Science Hall of Fame (ESHF), an international nonprofit organization honoring persons who have made outstanding contributions to engineering and science which have improved the quality of life for humankind, will induct Martin Cooper, inventor of the personal cellular telephone; Dr. Sunggyu Lee, inventor of alternative fuels and supercritical fluid technologies; and Arthur E. Morgan, designer of flood control systems and dams into the ESHF during a 6 p.m. ceremony on Nov. 14 at The Engineers Club of Dayton, 110 East Monument Avenue in Dayton.

Martin Cooper, M.S., electrical engineering — in 1973, Cooper assembled a team that developed the portable cellular phone and demonstrated its feasibility. He owns 11 patents in the communications field, sits on various boards, and is on the Federal Communications Commission Technology Advisory Council and the Department of Commerce Spectrum Management Advisory Committee.

Sunggyu Lee, Ph.D. — has greatly advanced the fields of green science and engineering with his work in the development of alternative fuels and functional materials via environmentally friendly process technologies. He possesses more than 80 international patents, in addition to over 500 archival publications and 150 peer-reviewed articles. Dr. Lee is the author of 10 books in the fields of energy and green chemistry, the editor of Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing, and a member of the International Advisory Board of the journal Energy Technology. He is an overseas member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea and a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Arthur E. Morgan — in 1913, Morgan was appointed the chief engineer to develop a flood control plan for the Miami River Valley (Dayton, Ohio). The result was the Miami Conservancy District that built and maintains a series of earthen dams on the tributaries of the Miami River. In 1920, he was chosen as president of Antioch College based on his plan for "industrial education," which stressed on-campus study alternated with off-campus work, broad general education and personal development in the student. In 1933, President Franklin D. Roosevelt appointed Morgan as director of the Tennessee Valley Authority, perhaps the most ambitious public works project in human history.

State Senator Peggy Lehner will serve as master of ceremonies. The cost to attend the dinner is $60 and it is open to the public. Individuals can register online at or by calling 937-228-2148.

On Friday, Nov. 15, the inductees or their representatives will speak and interact with high school students and teachers at the Engineers Club of Dayton from 10 - 12 a.m.

About Engineering and Science Hall of Fame (
The Engineering and Science Hall of Fame is an international organization established to honor engineers and scientists who, using scientific and engineering principles, have made a significant contribution to human well-being. Its specific purposes are to: recognize outstanding engineers and scientists who have made significant contributions benefiting humanity through an individual contribution using engineering or scientific principles; foster an understanding of the impact of these contributions on the world; encourage careers in engineering and science by exposing students to outstanding scientists and engineers; and establish and maintain an archive to support the continuing education of students and their teachers.

SOURCE The Engineering and Science Hall of Fame