Hats Off to 2010 Headwear Hall of Fame Inductees

Humphrey Bogart, Audrey Hepburn, Jennifer Lopez, Sarah Jessica Parker, Brad Pitt and Frank Sinatra

Oct 20, 2009, 06:58 ET from The Headwear Association

CHICAGO, Oct. 20 /PRNewswire/ -- Three showbiz icons and three modern day performers were chosen as the newest inductees into the Headwear Hall of Fame today announced The Headwear Association.

Whether singing, acting, dancing or serving as a goodwill ambassador, this year's inductees literally wear many hats including stylish ones in their off-screen lives.

The 2010 Headwear Hall of Fame inductees include:

  • Humphrey Bogart
  • Audrey Hepburn
  • Jennifer Lopez
  • Sarah Jessica Parker
  • Brad Pitt
  • Frank Sinatra

Annually, The Headwear Association recognizes the positive influence of famous hat wearers by choosing six people to be inducted into the Headwear Hall of Fame. These inductees comprise current day hat wearers as well as early influencers that have had a positive impact on the evolution of hat wearing and headwear fashion.

"The Headwear Association chose Bogart, Hepburn and Sinatra to be posthumously inducted into the Headwear Hall of Fame. We wanted to recognize these luminaries, who transcend generations, for their positive influence and hat-wearing image," said David Goldman, president of The Headwear Association. "We chose Brad Pitt, Sarah Jessica Parker and Jennifer Lopez as current fashion-forward celebrities that are frequently photographed in their daily lives wearing fashionable and trend-setting hats."

Members of The Headwear Association nominated more than 50 legendary hat wearers, living and deceased. Nominees had to wear hats in their personal lives and not only while portraying a character on television, stage or in a movie. The Headwear Association board of directors voted and approved the final six inductees.

Winners will be formally inducted into The Headwear Hall of Fame during The Headwear Association's annual gala dinner on Thursday, March 18, 2010 at the Central Park Boathouse in New York City.

The 2009 inaugural Headwear Hall of Fame inductees included Jackie Kennedy, Johnny Depp, Madonna, Princess Diana, Samuel L. Jackson and Vince Lombardi.

Entering its 102nd year, The Headwear Association (THA) is the oldest association in the hat trade. The organization's mission today is to promote hat wearing throughout the world and foster goodwill and fellowship among those engaged in the headwear industry.

For more information about The Headwear Association or the Headwear Hall of Fame please visit www.theheadwearassociation.org or contact Susan Weiss, SWPR (312) 222-1337 or susan@swpr.biz.

SOURCE The Headwear Association